imPress Manicure* | Reviews Day Tuesday

A few weeks ago I got an email from Influenster telling me that I qualified for my first ever VoxBox – the imPress Manicure* box. I had never heard of this product, so I thought it’d be a great chance for me to try it!

I admit that I was a tiny bit disappointed when I received my box – there were two manicure sets in there and neither were something I would chose to wear on a day-to-day basis. But regardless, I thought I would try one out and do a review on here!

DSC00195

The imPress Manicure sets come in a plastic bottle that looks like a nail polish bottle, which is quite clever, but wasteful packaging-wise. As you can see in the photo above, very little of the actual packaging is used. I do like that there is space to put the nails that you don’t use, but I don’t think it’s worth it for the wastefulness. It was super easy to get into though, which I can’t say for a lot of packaging!

The nails themselves were so easy to put on. They’re stick on nails, rather than having to use glue and all that jazz. I haven’t actually ever done a manicure out of a box before, so this was a new arena for me and I’m glad it was so simple! All you had to do after cleaning your nail with the pad in the box (I think it was soaked in alcohol) was find the correct size for your nail, peel off the plastic backing and stick it on! I did have a bit of an issue with the sizing – a lot of the nails were either way too big or too small for my nails, but I didn’t expect more than that in a one-size fits all kind of package. They did supply two entire sets of nails of different sizes so that you could find the best size for your nail, which was really wonderful.

DSC00198

Broadway claims that the nails will last up to a week, but I think that must be only true if you don’t use your hands at all for that week. Within two hours one of my pinky nails had popped off and I decided to test out the lasting power of the others by doing the dishes (with rubber gloves on). After the dishes were done nearly half of the nails had popped off inside the gloves and I ended up peeling the rest off because it would have just driven my crazy. I do really like how easy it is to take them off, but I think that’s the major down side to them too – if they’re so easy to take off, they really aren’t going to last long.

All in all, these nails would be great for one-off special occasions (a birthday party, for instance) where you don’t have to worry about the lasting power of the nails and just want an easy manicure. I’m not all that big on box manicure’s anyway, so I don’t think I’ll be purchasing these guys, but it’s definitely helpful to know what’s out there!

*This product was sent to me for review. See disclaimer for more details on my policy with sponsored reviews.

Leave a Reply

