Happy Birthday Harry Potter!

Like so many others of my generation, Harry Potter changed my life. He was a constant companion for lonely nights at the farm, a friendly face to turn to when I needed a friend, and he instilled so many morales in the core of my being that I can’t imagine myself without him in it.

LeakyCon 2011 – after watching Deathly Hallows Part 2 with good friends. Orlando, FL.

Harry and I may not be as close as we once were – I don’t think I’ve read the books for a few years now – but he’s still close to my heart. If it weren’t for him I wouldn’t have met one of my best friends, I wouldn’t have volunteered at the Harry Potter Alliance for three years and met and befriended some of the most inspiring people ever. And there are smaller things too, little things that have been instilled into my personality – honesty, loyalty, fairness.

With Heather and Aaron at our wedding. Heather is one of my best friends and we only met because of Harry Potter.

Today is Harry’s birthday – and also J.K. Rowling’s – and this post, though being quite a departure from the norm on this blog, is a shout out to all of you who were inspired by Harry’s story like I was, and it’s a shout out to Harry and Jo for being the best role models a kid could have.

4 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Harry Potter!

Leave a Reply

