The Best Acne Busters in Town

I have been plagued with acne for years. Is “plagued” too strong of a word? Maybe. I know I have had it a lot better than many people, but it still seems to always been present. And lately it’s been extra awful. Tiny, (and sometimes not so tiny) angry volcanos have been popping up on my face since the wedding, which I completely blame on the stress of moving and figuring out school and all of that fun stuff. But behold! An answer to all of my frustrations!

acne, kiehls, skin care, arbonne, lush

These three little products have been a saving grace for my face. I still have a way to go with my acne but these three gems are amazing at calming those angry red guys that pop up so often.

Lush Herbalism Cleanser. This cleanser has saved my face from so many nasty breakouts. If you’ve never used a Lush cleanser like this before, this bad boy is a solid product with a texture kind of similar to a chunky mask. You take a pea sized amount into your palm, add some water and make a paste with the cleanser before massaging it into your face. I find using it in the shower is the best because it can be a bit messy, but the results are so worth it for me. The physical exfoliating properties of the ground almonds plus the oil reducing properties of the rice vinegar oil makes for a very happy Jodi. A few days after using this zits shrink, the redness isn’t quite so apparent and my skin feels so soft that I want to stroke my own face. Yep.

Arbonne Sea Source Mask. This mask is probably the closest to a holy grail that I will find. Before this I hadn’t had much luck with Arbonne products working for my skin, but the days leading up to my wedding an enormous zit popped up on my cheek and my sister (who sells Arbonne products) recommended this mask. I used some of hers and boy oh boy I was hooked. It’s got a nice, workable texture to it and it’s cooling on the skin when you first put it on before it starts to tingle. It is a bit stubborn to come off, but there’s something about the process of rinsing it that feels really nice. I notice an immediate difference to my skin: the spots that linger under the surface disappear (how does that even work?) and it’ so much smoother. I usually follow this up with a thick moisturizer or a hydrating mask because it does leave my skin quite red and dry, but the benefits from this mask far outweigh the inconvenience of putting on another mask. I wouldn’t recommend this if you have sensitive skin though, as it is quite stripping. That being said, this mask is the only mask I’ve ever used that gives me results like this. The closest thing I could think of to compare it to is the Origin’s Active Charcoal Mask, but the results the Arbonne mask give me far outweigh the Origin’s one.

Kiehl’s Acne Blemish Control Daily Skin-Clearing Treatment. I am always skeptical of spot treatments, but this one works surprisingly well. It’s a light, creamy treatment that is quick to dry once put on the spot. It dries invisible so you can use it throughout the day, which is nice, though I prefer to use it at night. I find this treatment really helps the spots to disappear quickly, better than any other spot treatment I’ve tried. It contains Dioic, Salicylic and Lipo Hydroxy Acids, all of which help to minimize the appearance of acne.

skin care, swatches, kiehls, arbonne, lush

Kiehl’s Acne Blemish Control Daily Skin Clearing Treatment, Arbonne Sea Source Face Mask, LUSH Herbalism Cleanser

What’s your favourite way to combat skin problems? Let me know in the comments below!

– Jodi
Bloglovin | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest

18 thoughts on “The Best Acne Busters in Town

  1. My acne secrets are kind of strange… Irish spice soap is the only thing that has ever consistently worked on my acne. My boyfriend had really bad acne and it cleared right up after using Irish spice. He saw me buy a 14.00 bar of soap at lush and insisted I try Irish spring- let’s jut say I never looked back! I went from the ages of 12-20 never leaving the house without foundation and concealer, now I can’t remember the last time I wore makeup!

    My other go-to products are cosmetic catastrophe mask from lush, tea tree mask from the body shop, rosewater toner, cortisone cream for scars, and beauticontrol ancestors moisturizer! However my most recent discovery, is the exfoliating properties of Epsom salts! I grab a handful and gently scrub my face in the shower 🙂

  2. Thanks for the advice on products, Jodi! I have a bunch of stuff I’m still finishing up (…I don’t wash my face as much as I really should…) and have found that for really stubborn bad pimples, the clinique spot treatment is painful (very strong) but effective. I was so fed up with acne that I actually went on accutane for about 6 months about 2 years ago. I’m glad I did, it definitely helped, although it was QUITE a process to go through, and after about a 6-12 months of being off of it, some of the acne returned. My face still makes pimples now, though less so than before, and all the back and shoulder ones are cleared up (and I attribute that to Accutane). It can be pricey if you don’t have good health insurance, and there can be some nasty side effects (you have to be on birth control while on accutane – one month prior and one month after, as well as during; and you need monthly blood/urine tests), but my prescription-wary doctor had no fears about putting me on it. Not a product, but a solution that’s helped me.

    I was wondering, with the Lush cleanser in particular, if it has plastic microbeads in it or not…I want to avoid all products with microbeads based on the new awareness out there about its problems (and its prevalence in exfoliating type beauty products!).

    • I tried the clinique acne line a while ago and it was way too harsh for me. I had to return it, just wasn’t worth it!

      The Lush cleanser is free of those microbeads! I try to avoid them too. Its main exfoliants are the almond I think, but its not too harsh at all! If you want to test it out before you buy it, Lush is amazing for giving out free samples in store.

    • (I just tried to post this and it didn’t show up so forgive me if this pops up twice.) I recently purchased the Yes To Tomatoes cleanser and clearing moisturizer and have been having amazing results with those! I want to wait a bit before giving a full review but they are a bit more affordable than Lush and are also cruelty-free (and I think organic but I’m not 100% on that).

  3. This is so helpful, I’ve wanted to try out the lush herbalism cleanser for so long, so I may have to make a purchase! A brand which has really helped my acne has been La Roche Posay, particularly their effaclar range!

  4. Pingback: What's In My Shower | Up the Rollercoaster

  5. Pingback: Morning Skincare Routine | Up the Rollercoaster

  6. Pingback: Empties #2 - October 2014 | Up the Rollercoaster

Leave a Reply

