Summer Favourites | A little bit of this, a little bit of that…

I have been putting off writing this post because I’ve been unwilling to admit that summer is over. But now that it’s already snowed in my home province of Alberta (that’s right, snow) I have decided I better not put this post off any longer. Behold, my Summer favourites!

Summer Favourites | Up the Rollercoaster

Makeup

This summer has been preeeetty hectic for me and I will admit that I have gone through a lot of different phases when it comes to my makeup. From full faced to barely there, bright red lips, to nude lips, to purple. But there have been quite a few consistent items I’ve been loving – makeup and otherwise.

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 15 Fair. I had forgotten about this concealer for quite a long time – in fact it’s probably expired… – but I pulled it out one day because I was unhappy with how my NARS creamy concealer was matching to my skin and this just wowed me. I swear it is the exact same formula as the NARS concealer, or at least it’s a very close dupe, it just has a better match for my skin tone. And at a much lower cost too!

Lipsticks. In my mind, my summer was split into two: pre-move and post-move, and interestingly enough my lipstick tastes seemed to have been split there too. My pre-move lipstick default was Lustering by MAC, a beautiful watermelon pink that is moisturizing and so easy to wear. It’s wonderful for a sticky summer day when you want a little something but can’t be bothered to do a lot of work on makeup that’s just going to melt off. For the post-move months (mid-July-August) I couldn’t get enough of Makeup For Ever’s N9 Rouge Artist Natural lipstick in Copper Pink. This mini was one of the deluxe sized samples from Sephora’s birthday gifts this year and it is the perfect “my lips but better” shade for me. It is so effortless to put on and to wear that I have been reaching for it almost daily.

Summer Makeup Favourites

Makeup For Ever Smokey Extravagant Mascara. This was the other Sephora birthday gift product this year and I admit I was disappointed at first. I have so many mascara’s already that I was hoping for something a little more exciting. But then I used it. Oh boy is this mascara something else. It makes my eyes pop like you wouldn’t believe and it holds a curl so nicely. It’s the only mascara I’ve been wearing since I got the gift in July!

Maybelline Colour Tattoo in Bad to the Bronze. I really can’t believe it took me so long to jump on the Colour Tattoo bandwagon because this creamy eyeshadow is just amazing. It’s perfect for throwing on by itself or for pairing up with other colours and I love how budge-proof it is on my oily eyelids.

Summer Makeup Favourites

Skincare

Kiehl’s Lip Balm. When I first got this lip balm I was pretty meh about it but I forgot to use it one night before bed and I seriously missed it the next day. The balm is super hydrating, though a bit slippery on the lips if you like to put on as much as I do at night. I’ve come to really enjoy using the plastic tube rather than a twist-up stick like I normally have. I feel like I’m definitely going to want to repurchase this once I run out.

Kiehl’s Blue Herbal Moisturizer. My skin has been super bad since moving to Halifax as it adjusts to the climate and the change in lifestyle and this is one of the few things I’ve used that zaps my zits away. It’s amazing – I used it in the morning and by the next day my acne was significantly less noticeable. I’m just sad I only have one more sample – I know what I’m going to order when I run out of the lip balm! 😉

TV/Webseries & Books

The Legend of Korra. My husband and I have been so in love with this show that we named our cat after the title character. Yeah. Korra is a spin off of the Nickelodeon cartoon Avatar: The Last Airbender (the cartoon – don’t bother with the M. Night Shyamalan live movie) and for a “kids show” it is so smart, well thought out and beautifully animated. I can’t say enough good things about this series and this world.

The New Adventure’s of Peter and Wendy. As you might guess from the title, this webseries is a modern adaptation of Peter Pan. I am a huge lover off all things Pan, so I was quite excited to discover this webseries this summer. It’s just finished its first season and has just reached it’s Indiegogo goal for it’s second and third seasons!

Emma Approved. This webseries is a modern day adaptation of Jane Austen’s Emma, which I haven’t actually read so this story was totally new to me! I was quite uncertain about it at first because I loved The Lizzie Bennet Diaries so much (which is produced by the same company) and was having a hard time letting go. But the more I watched the more I loved the characters and I’m so sad it’s over now! I’m crossing my fingers for season two!

An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth by Chris Hadfield. I haven’t been reading as much as I would like to but when I do sit down to read this book I have such a hard time putting it down. Commander Hadfield writes about his journey to become an astronaut – and was it ever a journey! This has been such an inspirational book for me to read and it has made me even more excited to see him speak in November!

What was your number one favourite thing this summer?

– Jodi
Bloglovin | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest

One thought on “Summer Favourites | A little bit of this, a little bit of that…

  1. Pingback: Empties #1 | Up the Rollercoaster

Leave a Reply

