A Summer Lament

I have been missing summer these last few days and in an effort to bring back those glorious golden rays I’ve been going through some photos that in July and August and came across some I felt I needed to share from the Halifax Public Gardens. These gardens are in the style of the City Beautiful Movement, which was a reform philosophy that started in factory-ridden Victorian London to help the public be less depressed with their awful home lives by introducing public green spaces throughout cities to cheer up the public. (Quick, stop me now before I write an entire article on the City Beautiful Movement.)

Anyway, the Halifax Public Gardens have kept up that Victorian style of a public park with fountains, a bridges, a pond full of goldfish and ducks and lots and lots of pretty flowers. It quickly became one of my favourite spots in the city and I wanted to share some of the photos I took with you.

Halifax Public Gardens | Up the Rollercoaster

Halifax Public Gardens | Up the Rollercoaster

Halifax Public Gardens - Flowers | Up the Rollercoaster

Halifax Public Gardens - Succulents | Up the Rollercoaster

Halifax Public Gardens | Up the Rollercoaster

Halifax Public Gardens | Up the Rollercoaster

Of course, I only realized after I got home that the picture I took of the beautiful fountain dedicated to Queen Victoria was of the back of the fountain. Ha, whoooops!

What are you missing the most from summer?

– Jodi
Bloglovin | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest

Leave a Reply

