Autumn 2014 Luxe Box First Impression

Luxe Box Autumn 2014 | Up the Rollercoaster

I received my Luxe Box in the mail last week! This will be my last Luxe Box, at least until I get a job, and while I am sad to step away from this subscription I am very excited to share my goodies with you!

Luxe Box Autumn 2014 | Up the Rollercoaster

AG Hair High & Dry
Sample Value: $8.00 (50 mL)
I have a serious lack of hair products in my stash, so I’m looking forward to giving this product a good test. My shorter hair has a lot of natural volume to it, but I can see myself reaching for this on the second of third day after a wash to give it a little more help in the volume department.

Loose Button Fan Brush.
Retail Value: $18 (Full Size)
First of all – $18 for this brush? I have a hard time believing that. It is no better than my e.l.f. fan brush – in fact it feels exactly the same in my hand and gives the same results so I can’t say it would be worth it to buy this one over the e.l.f. brush, though I am okay to have a second one of these.

Lila Grace Passionfruit Orchid Body Lotion
Sample Value: $4.00 / 65 ml
This sample has a very strong floral smell with an undertone of sweetness that I really don’t enjoy. However I like the lotion itself, so I’m hoping that I will be able to get over the smell.

Burt’s Bees Lipgloss in “Ruby Moon”
Retail Value: $12.99 (Full Size)
I’m not normally a lip gloss girl, but I really like this one! It’s a really great colour for fall, the formula is super hydrating and not sticky at all. I’m not surprised because I’ve liked everything I’ve tried from Burt’s Bees before, so this will be another good one to add to my makeup collection.

Amarte Aqua Veil Pure Hydration Serum & Aqua Cream
Sample Value: $4.30 (5 mL) (serum) & Sample Value: $10.00 (5 mL) (cream)
I haven’t used either of the Amarte samples yet, but they smell very refreshing – just a hint of cucumber – so I’m pretty excited to try them out! I think I will probably wait until it starts getting colder to really give them a test when my skin needs some more help in the moisture department.

So Susan Concealer Quad.
Retail Value: $17.50 (Full Size)
I am pretty underwhelmed by this product. I prefer fast makeup that I can throw on and go, but this concealer quad doesn’t have a shade that works for my skin so I would have to mix them together.I hope to get use out of the white shade for highlighting at the very least, and maybe this will grow on me with time. Despite not having a shade match, the formula itself seems to be pretty excellent. The concealer is smooth and creamy with a buildable coverage that worked well on my hand.

Total value: $74.80! That’s a pretty great value for the price of the box – CA$26.

Luxe Box Autumn 2014 | Up the Rollercoaster

All in all, I was pretty disappointed in this box, but such is the risk with a subscription box. I’m hoping that the products grow on me as I use them, but if not at least maybe I can give them to some interested friends to try out.

5 thoughts on “Autumn 2014 Luxe Box First Impression

  1. Pingback: Beauty Blogger Tag | Up the Rollercoaster

  2. Pingback: The Fall Lipstick Edit | Up the Rollercoaster

  3. Pingback: PREVIEW: Luxe Box Spring 2015 | Up the Rollercoaster

Leave a Reply

