Empties #1

For those of you who might be unfamiliar, an empties post is kind of like a mini review post of used up products. Basically, I collect my garbage in a bag until it gets to a point that I deem to be enough and then I sift through old makeup, skin care and body care to tell you about it. Fun, hey? Nah, but seriously, I find these posts really useful – I hope you do too!

Empties 1

I’ve been collecting these bad boys since about mid-July – so I really don’t have a lot of products all in all. And more than half are products I found in my makeup stash and went oh god, how old are you? before tossing into my handy empties bag.

Let’s start off with samples, shall we? I decided I wanted to go through some of my samples during the summer to decrease the stash and these are the ones I tried – or at least the ones that I remembered not to toss.

Empties 1

Ole Henriksen Reparative Anti-aging Oil For how much people rave about Ole Henriksen’s skincare, I was very underwhelmed with this oil. Maybe it was because it was just a sample and I don’t need a lot of repairing when it comes to fine lines, but I didn’t see any difference in my skin after using this. It does have a very strong fake-citrus scent too it as well that I couldn’t get passed, so I can’t say I’d buy this anyway. It did work very well for moisturizing, though – my skin always felt nice and plump after I used it, but not any more so than my normal oils.

Murad Pore & Line Minimizing Hydrator I honestly don’t remember anything about this sample, other than it was a white cream. I think that probably tells you all you need to know.

Origins Plantscription SPF 25 Anti-Aging Oil-free Cream Why do I have so many anti-aging samples? It’s not something that I’m concerned with yet…so why did I pick them in the online Sephora checkout? Is my subconscious telling me something? Hmmmm…

As for the product itself, I guess it was alright? I didn’t have any break out issues with it and it was a pretty standard moisturizer. Nothing too spectacular though.

Origins High-Potency Night-A-Mins I enjoyed this sample quite a bit! It was easy to work into my skin and didn’t leave a sticky consistency at all and the next morning my skin felt nice and moisturized. I didn’t notice anything spectacular, but I only got a few uses out of the sample so I can’t give it a really fair assessment there.

Crest 3D White Toothpaste (3x) I got a bunch of these (and the white strips) in my Summer Luxe Box and I’m still not through them all. I did however quite enjoy them. They taste like normal toothpaste, nothing gross about them like I thought was a possibility and they do really help with whitening, especially when paired with the White Strips.

Crest 3D White Strips Professional Effects (4x) I think I still have a couple of these floating around somewhere too, which I am perfectly alright with. I used these White Strips before the wedding as well and really liked the result, though they do make my teeth a little more sensitive when I first use them, so I need to watch that.

Now, onto the old products. I went through my stash before we moved and got rid of quite a lot of stuff that was expired so I’m shocked that these products made it this far.

Empties 1

e.l.f. Super Glossy Lip Shine SPF14 in Candelight and Pink Kiss. I am almost too embarassed to say how old these are…but I know they were purchased in my first ever e.l.f. order which I think I made in the 2009-2010 range? Yikes. I discovered that lipgloss isn’t really my thing – at least not these, which were pretty sticky – and I barely touched them. I did like the colours, though and they smelled pretty nice – sweet, but not too sweet.

e.l.f. Eye Widener in Pure White. This pencil isn’t that old, but it’s just awful. It’s so hard and doesn’t apply very easily at all. It’s more scratchy than creamy and I just hated using it. The only thing I did like was the pencil sharpener in the cap…

Maybelline New York One by One Volume Express Mascara. I love this mascara. It is perfect for a natural eye, but it’s buildable into something more dramatic. It is with a sigh that I say so long to this little tube.

Buxom Bare Escentuals Mascara in Blackest Black I don’t even remember how I got this, but I’m pretty sure it was a deluxe sample that I received from last years Black Friday sale on Sephora’s website. I didn’t reach often for this, but when I did I always enjoyed it. I especially like the wand, which is quite long and has lots of rubbery bristles on it that separate the lashes beautifully. I probably wouldn’t go out of my way to buy it again, but I wouldn’t say no to it either.

Maybelline New York Unstoppable Eyeliner in Black Before Rimmel’s Scandaleyes, this was my go-to mascara purely because I liked the twist up function. It didn’t stay put on the eyelid very well, though and I wouldn’t buy it again. (Do they even make it anymore? I have no idea.)

Something something hair products…

Empties 1

GOSH Cosmetics Fresh Up! Dry Shampoo This was the first dry shampoo I ever used and it did the job well but left a white cast in my hair. It would probably be okay for people with lighter hair, but I wouldn’t buy this again.

Living Proof frizz nourishing styling cream I think this also came in the Black Friday deluxe sample extravaganza and I LOVED it. This stuff smells so good – though I have no idea what of – and really did help in the anti-frizz department. I’d love to have more of it, but I think I’m going to test out some others first.

Fekkai Reparative Shampoo This also came in my Summer Luxe Box and I was so sad to see it go. This is an amazing shampoo that leaves your hair smelling AMAZEBALLS and feeling so soft. I miss it already.

Onto the homestretch now, friends…so close…

Empties 1

The Body Shop Early Harvest Raspberry Body Butter It is with a sigh that I say goodbye to this body butter. It is by far my favourite scent that the Body Shop have ever produced and I want more, damn it! Too bad it was a limited run…*tear*

LUSH Tea Tree Water Toner I quite enjoyed this little sample from LUSH! I am almost out of my Eau Roma Water, so I might just have to go pick up a full sized version of this…

Origins Clear Improvement Active Charcoal Mask to Clear Pores Yep, I like it a lot. It does exactly what it says on the tin – clears pores – and does it quite well. It’s not too stripping either, so this is a great option for people with acne and/or clogged pores and sensitive skin.

Phew! *wipes brow* That was more than I thought it was! Thanks for sticking with me! What is a product you’ve used up recently that you’re mourning?

– Jodi
Bloglovin | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest

3 thoughts on “Empties #1

Leave a Reply

