Top 10 Face and Eye Brushes

Top 10 Face and Eye Brushes

My makeup brush collection is by no means extensive. In fact, for a beauty blogger I probably have quite a limited collection keeping mostly to e.l.f. and Real Techniques brushes. While I am by no means satisfied with where my collection is at, there are some pretty excellent brushes sitting on my desk, so I though I would showcase my Top 10 Face and Eye Brushes (in no particular order).

The Face

Top 10 Face and Eye Brushes

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge If you’ve read my recent review of this sponge, you’ll know that I use it almost daily. It is just that good.

Real Techniques Contour Brush This is the blush I use most often for blush and I love it. It distributes the product nicely on the skin and because it’s a bit smaller than most blush brushes it’s easier to control. Recently I have started to use it for bronzer as well and it fits perfectly under the cheekbones.

Real Techniques Expert Face Brush If I don’t use the Miracle Complexion Sponge, I use the this to apply my foundation and I love it. Unfortunately it’s starting to look pretty stained, though. I think I might need to invest in a Brush Egg to see if I can fix that.

e.l.f. Complexion Brush This bad boy is the perfect powder brush. I have had this brush for about 3 years and it hasn’t shed at all and considering it cost me about $3 I am so happy with it. It hasn’t shown any wear and tear yet even along the ferrel where I’ve noticed some other e.l.f. brushes start to fall apart. This is definitely worth more than the price tag and I would highly recommend it!

Bare Minerals Precision Face Brush This is my most expensive brush, but interestingly enough it is my least used of the ones I’m showcasing.Part of the problem is that I usually save this for powder foundations and I prefer liquid, but when I do use this it gives such a beautiful finish. Don’t get me wrong, this is a lovely brush – the bristles are supa soft and it has an amazing feel in your hand. (I’m not resisting running it over my hand right now at all…)

The Eyes

Top 10 Face and Eye Brushes

e.l.f. Studio Small Angled Brush I used to solely use this to fill in my eyebrows when I was using powder, but since switching to Revlon’s Brow Fantasy Duo  I have started to use this brush more and more either to define the outer v of my eyelid or as an eyeliner brush when I use powder to line my eyes. This is another brush I’ve had for about three years and I haven’t noticed any wear on it at all.

e.l.f. Studio Eyeshadow “C’ Brush This is my favourite eyeshadow brush in my collection – it holds a lot of pigment and the shape of the brush means that it gets into all the right places without getting all over your face. It’s also got enough bristles to it that you can use it to blend out your eyeshadows – basically it’s the perfect versatile brush. If you’re going to get one brush out of this list, I’d definitely recommend this one.

e.l.f. Studio Concealer Brush I don’t like using this brush for concealer – it leaves little brush lines wherever you’re concealing and it’s not small enough to conceal pimples. So I use it to pat pigment onto my eyelids. It’s very similar to the “C” Brush except for that it’s not as thick, so it doesn’t blend nearly as well, but it’s great for an all over the lid pigment.

e.l.f. Professional Blending Eye Brush This is the perfect blending brush – it is long and pliable which means that it blends your eyeshadow out beautifully. Unfortunately I have noticed that the Professional line of e.l.f. brushes shed quite a lot, so that is something to watch out for.

e.l.f Professional Eyeshadow Brush Last but not least, this is another great “all in one” eyeshadow brush. If my “C” brush is dirty or I need a second versatile brush I always grab this one. Like the Professional Blending Brush it does shed though.

What are your favourite brushes? I’d love to hear some suggestions on how I can beef up my collection in the comments!

One thought on “Top 10 Face and Eye Brushes

  1. Pingback: What's in my Travel Makeup Bag? | Up the Rollercoaster

Leave a Reply

