Review: Wet n Wild Mega Last Lipstick – The Darks

This post contains products that were sent to me for my consideration. Go here for my disclosure policy.

I was recently sent some goodies from Wet n Wild in conjunction with the Steal the Look giveaway  and I thought it was about time I took a closer look at some of these products and write up some reviews. For my first review I am focusing on the darker, vampy Mega Last Lipsticks that were sent my way.

Wet n Wild Mega Last Lipstick

Mega Last Lipsticks: The Darks

The Formula

The Wet n Wild Mega Last lipsticks offer a long-wearing super matte and slightly drying finish to the lips. The pigmentation is superb – I seriously usually have to do one swipe – though they do drag on the lips when applying. This helps the lasting power for sure – I only need to apply a couple times throughout the day, so the 4 hour claim that Wet n Wild makes is certainly not far off the mark. The super great thing about these is that even though they are really dark and vampy they are so easy to wear. They don’t bleed or feather so you don’t have to worry about these bad boys getting all over your face. I would recommend a lip balm before application, though.

Each bullet contains 0.11 oz/3.3 g of lipstick for around CA$2.00 (depending on where you shop).

Just a quick note about the packaging – I hate the cap, purely because I can see wherever the lipstick has transferred from the bullet to the packaging. (You can see it a little bit in the photo above – and that was after I’d wiped them down too.) For such an inexpensive lipstick I can’t fault them too much, but it is unfortunate.

The Shades

I have eight shades to share with you today, which I think is a pretty decent sampling of the 26-colour line. I do aim to do another post featuring the brighter shades I received at some point, but that miiiight wait until spring. We’ll see!

Mega Last Lipstick Swatches: The Darks

Each of these swatches are a single swipe of the bullet to my arm without primer

Stoplight Red This is a red. I’d say it’s a pretty darn close colour match to Sephora Collection’s Cream Lip Stain in Always Red (which I have raved about in the past), though the formula is more drying that Sephora’s. I haven’t worn this one other than for test swatches, but this is a great one to pick up with Christmas just around the corner.

Mauve Outta Here is the pinkest offering in The Darks collection I’ve created here, which I recently featured in my Keira Knightley Stolen Look. It looks quite bright on the lips, but it is cool enough that it still works wonderfully during the fall/winter months for those of you who enjoy pink lips. I know I’ve been converted with this one.

In the Flesh I am not usually a fan of brown nudes, but this is pretty much the perfect brown nude for me. My lips are definitely more of a mauve than a brown naturally, but it is dark enough that it doesn’t make me look like a ghost.

Spiked with Rum Ahh, the brownish-red. I was adamant that I would not like this trend, but I have been reaching for this colour more often that I thought. It is a fantastic compromise between a true brown and a brick red.

Cinnamon Spice is Spiked with Rum’s redder best friend. These two are so similar it’s very easy to mistake them in the tube, but once swatched you can see the difference. It’s got just a hint of berry that makes it such a perfect transition lip between fall and winter.

Cherry Bomb sits between Vamp it Up and Sugar Plum Fairy in the purple family – not a blacky-purple, but not a reddish-purple either. If I had to compare it to another lippie I own I would probably say Revlon’s Shameless Matte Balm, but it’s still got a bit more of a red hue to it than Shameless does.

Sugar Plum Fairy This is one of my favourite shades from this line – it is the perfect purpley, berry-ish colour for fall. It’s a great jumping off point for folks who want to try a purple lip but aren’t quite brave enough for something like Revlon’s Shameless.

Vamp It Up When they say Vamp it Up, they mean Vamp it Up. When you think of vampy lips, this is the colour that should come to your mind. Deep deep dark almost-black purple. I noticed this one takes a bit more effort to apply than some of the others as it does tug at the lips quite a bit, but the colour is so fantastic that I can’t mind.

Oh boy writing this post has made me fall deeper in love with these lipsticks. I really can’t say anything wrong about any of these shades – I love them all and can see myself getting a lot of use out of them throughout the rest of fall and winter. If I had to pick favourites though I’d probably grab Sugar Plum Fairy*, Cinnamon Spice* and Spiked with Rum* which is pretty unlike me, really! Maybe my trademark red lip isn’t so trademark anymore!

Which of these Wet n Wild Mega Last Lipstick shades do you want to pick up?

17 thoughts on “Review: Wet n Wild Mega Last Lipstick – The Darks

  1. BEAUTIFUL!! I thiiink I’m only missing Spotlight Red and Sugar Plum Fairy. These lipsticks are incredible and worth buying multiples of since they’re going to be harder to find now!

  2. I own every color in this line besides dollhouse pink. I’m not a huge fan of the packaging, but they all look beautiful and cost less than $3. Definitely one of my favorite lipstick lines!

  3. I loveeee wnw! I have cherry bomb and its my fave- its said to be a close dupe of mac diva. I’m looking for vamp it up but it’s always sold out in stores.
    Liz
    50shadesoflizxo.blogspot.com

  4. Pingback: Arbonne Smoothed Over Lipsticks and Liner + Swatches | Up the Rollercoaster

Leave a Reply

