2015 Goals

new year(credit: pinterest)

Hellloooooo 2015! I hope that everyone’s experiences with the new year have been good so far and that you had a fun NYE! Dylan and I stayed in as we were both feeling a little under the weather. We actually didn’t even make it to the countdown before we were in bed…so granny!

I don’t typically make resolutions at the beginning of a new year – at least not exclusively, but I figured ’tis the season and all, so why not share what I’ve been thinking about the past week or so.

Quality over Quantity. I have been so focused on my schedule the past few months that I feel like some of my posts haven’t been what I wanted them to be. I still want a schedule but I think I’m going to reduce the number of times that I post in a week in the hopes that I can get that quality again. In this vein I’m hoping to feature at least two makeup looks a month while getting back on the tutorial train!

Drugstore Focused. I started Up the Rollercoaster with a goal of keeping everything I feature under the $50 mark and while I have been mostly successful I want to push that more. I think there are some real gems to be found in the aisles of our favourite drugstores and I want to start focusing on those instead of some of the more expensive items I’ve been drooling over recently. And as a bonus it will be better for my bank account too!

Utilize Social Media Better. I am just about always on Twitter and Facebook when I’m at home and I really want to start utilize them better for my blog. I schedule tweets and Facebook posts to go out on the days when I have new posts but I want to start creating more of a community by sharing more of other blogger’s work as well. I especially want to get back on the Instagram train – I definitely fell out of the habit of promoting my blog posts there when I started working retail, so that’s something I want to focus my efforts on.

Comment More. I am a fairly passive reader of blogs and it always makes me so happy when people take the time to comment on my posts so I want to spread the love around to my fellow bloggers!

I have a few personal goals as well that are a bit more…well “fun” isn’t the right word, but something along those veins. I have the usual goals of eating better and spending less time on the internet (which coincidentally means finding some more hobbies to occupy my time), but I also have a few that are a bit more personal to me.

Start Riding the Bus More. Transit is a huge source of my anxiety but it really limits where I can go and what I can do. It also really limits what Dylan and I do on a day-to-day basis which is not something that I enjoy. I love walking but now that it has finally snowed in Halifax it is too chilly to walk an hour to downtown. So I want to slowly start working my way into getting used to transit and work on the whole anxiety thing.

Re-apply to Dalhousie. I have decided that I want to go back to school in the fall so I need to send in some applications. I am going to re-apply to the Bachelor of Environmental Design program which will take some work (portfolio, letter of intent, references) and a general Arts degree as well as my “back up”.

Cook More. Right now Dylan is the main cook in our house because it is just not something that I enjoy, but some nights it is just not fair to make him cook when I have had the day off and he hasn’t. So I want to start exploring cooking more and maybe even start meal planning. *shocked emoji*

Most of these goals are definitely achievable, which is certainly one of the best ways to succeed in my experience! I’ve already done well with the bus thing – I didn’t anxious at all when Dylan and I went out. Whoohoo! Do you have any resolutions this year?

6 thoughts on “2015 Goals

  1. Solid plan Jodi! I have to say though, I think drugstore buys would be a little hard for me only because then I’d actually have to spend a lot more time at the drugstore! Good resolutions for the year!

      • NICE! I know there are a lot of cool brands stocked there – especially at Shoppers, but it’s like meeting new people. I’d have to go there and browse and check out each individual brand…so much work. Power to you for staying away from Sephora! But…what about the VIB sales?!

Leave a Reply

