Empties 4: December 2014

December Empties

 

Hello lovelies and welcome to another edition of What’s in My Trash! I’ve finished up another healthy round of products this month partly thanks to Finish Six by Christmas, and partly just because of good ol’ time.

LUSH Eau Roma Water: On the one hand I am celebrating that I finally used up the Eau Roma Water, but on the other I am so sad because it was so refreshing! It didn’t do much other than dampen the skin (which I found helped my moisturizer sink in better) but it was really refreshing and smelled lovely. I have the Tea Tree Water now and I don’t like it nearly as much.

Chi Iron Guard Heat Protectant Spray: This is another one of those products that seemed never ending and when I did finally use it up I was pretty shocked. It was a perfectly alright heat protectant, but I’ve purchased a Redken one to try out.

e.l.f. Brush Shampoo: I do love this brush shampoo, but ordering it from e.l.f. is honestly too much of a hassle, so I have some baby shampoo and Dr. Bronner’s Tea Tree Soap that I use now.

Marc Anthony Oil of Morocco Argan Oil Shampoo: this was an okay shampoo. It was hydrating without being weighty and it did keep my hair cleaner longer than my current Tresemme shampoo, but I am a fickle shampoo buyer and rarely repurchase the same shampoo, so I am moving on.

December Empties

Quo Cosmetics Pads: I’m a bit relieved to have used these up purely because I’ve had them so long! I loved them – they were the perfect amount of absorbent so that you didn’t have to waste product just to dampen it, but the product didn’t get everywhere either. They were also thick enough that you could definitely half them through the middle cushy bit, but I liked the cushy. I’ve repurchased the new versions of these which I don’t like quite as much – they’re stitched around the edges now, which is really strange to me, but they work just as well.

Balea Brightening Mud Face Mask: Okay, I have fallen in love with Balecia masks. They’re those single use ones you can get at Shoppers Drug Mart, you know the ones? They are so nice! I think this one is my favourite of the ones I’ve tried – though I really like the hydrating ones too. I got three uses out of this pouch which I think was pretty sweet considering it was around the $1 mark when I bought it. I definitely think I’ll be repurchasing.

Yes to Grapefruit Brightening Facial Wipes: I really like the Yes to Tomatoes line and I’ve heard nothing but good things about the Cucumber wipes and the Carrots hand lotions but I did not like these. They were supposed to be exfoliating and brightening but what they ended up being were burny. Even when I ended up just using them to take swatches off of my arms it was too stingy for my liking. I’m going to be steering away from the Grapefruit line I think.

Origins Ginzing Eye Cream Deluxe Sample: I wanted to love this product so badly but it was very mediocre to me. It was certainly good at hydrating (better than the Aveeno, anyway) but it didn’t really do anything to brighten for me. I’ve never noticed any differences in brightening creams anyway – the only thing that does anything for my under eye circles is a good salmon coloured concealer.

LUSH Father Christmas Bath Bomb: I loved how huge and festive this bath bomb was, but I don’t think I’ll repurchase it. I either like super hydration, fun colours or bubbles from my bath products and this didn’t have any of those, even if it was fun shaped!

LUSH Cinders Bath Bomb: I was a bit let down by this one – I expected it to smell incredibly festive, so I saved it for Christmas Eve but it was just kind of there. I am uncertain if I’ll actually repurchase this or not because I wasn’t in love with it, but I didn’t hate it either.

LUSH The Christmas Hedgehog Bubble Bar: if this was in the permanent line I would absolutely repurchase this again! I loved how adorable the little hedgehog was and it was hydrating while giving tons of bubbles. I hope LUSH brings back this cutie next Christmas!

LUSH Honey Bee Bath Bomb: I think this is my new favourite bath bomb! It is incredibly hydrating – actually more so than Butterball, and it’s so fun coloured! Though the bath water does look a bit like urine…

December Empties

Aveeno Anti-Wrinkle Eye Cream: This was honestly one of the first eye creams I ever bought and it worked alright, I guess? It was okay at hydrating, I can’t say much about the anti-aging properties though. All in all it was very average and I have already moved on to bigger and better eye creams. (I hope)

Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate: I ended up spilling about 1/4 of this down the sink ands I was heartbroken and so mad at myself because this oil is amazing. I used it nightly for about 9 months and it really helped keep my skin plum and moisturized, especially during the winter. If it wasn’t so darn pricey and I wasn’t testing out other oils right now I would definitely have another in my medicine cabinet.

Glamglow Brightmud Eye Treatment Sample: Eh. I was excited to try it, but it didn’t do anything for me. I have a feeling this is something you need to try multiple times to see any results, but it’s too expensive to tempt me.

Benefit That Gal Brightening Primer Deluxe Sample: This was part of Finish Six by Christmas and I really miss this primer now that it’s empty. I need to finish up other primers before I buy another, but if I’m still missing it by then this is a definite repurchase possibility.

Rimmel Scandaleyes Brown Kohl Liner: This was one of my Finish Six by Christmas items and while I definitely could have got more out of the liner I was just done with it. It was alright – definitely creamy and didn’t tug the eyelid, which is nice, but it didn’t stay put like I had wanted it to. I’ve moved on to the Pixi eyeliner which is more expensive but beautiful so far!

John Freida Frizz Ease Straight Fixation Sample: I looooooooooved this product! I have a pretty similar Bumble and Bumble product right now though (that I am not as in love with) so I need to use that up before I go about purchasing this but I definitely think I will!

Crest 3-D White Toothpaste Sample: Yep, I found another one. These samples just keep reappearing! I’m totally okay with that because I really love this toothpaste, but it’s too expensive for me to justify actually buying.

Total tally: 18 products used up. You go, self! *self high five*

Did you use up any products in December that you’re missing now?

9 thoughts on “Empties 4: December 2014

  1. I’ve just started to get into the Balea masks. I actually have the one you used, and have yet to try it! I’m excited now! How did you store it to continue getting use out of it? I wasn’t quite sure if I was supposed to save the excess or it was supposed to be a one use foil pack.

  2. So many goodies! I love the lush bath bombs 🙂 I find it’s always so satisfying to round up all the things you’ve used up at the end of the month! It makes me feel better about having WAY too much makeup lol

  3. Pingback: Empties & Tosses: July - October 2015 | Up the Rollercoaster

Leave a Reply

