2014 Favourites

2014 Favourites

I wasn’t sure about doing a 2014 favourites post because I’ve found so many awesome new (to me) products that I couldn’t even imagine narrowing it down, but I actually did it fairly easily once I started looking through my makeup. I tried to do “categories” in my head so I didn’t have 5000000 lip products in here and I think I managed to keep it even!

I first discovered the Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation last summer and it has been a steamy love affair ever since. This is a seriously gorgeous foundation with a hydrating, long lasting formula that just glides on so easily. It is a light-medium coverage depending on how much you build it up and on light makeup days you can definitely get away without concealer – this coming from a girl who’s cheeks almost always love the spurt out spots. I fell out of love with it for about a month and a half where I experimented with MAC and L’Oreal, but honestly I haven’t found anything that beats this bad boy.

I was given the Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette two Christmases ago now and I have seriously loved it ever since. It is my most loved palette (with the exception of Wet n Wild’s Comfort Zone) and I keep finding new and exciting makeup looks to do with it. It’s just the palette that keeps on giving!

2014fave_2

I have never really been a perfume person, but I picked up the Clean mini rollerball trio set during Sephora’s Black Friday sale and instantly fell in love with Cotton. It smells exactly like clothing that has come out of the dryer and I could honestly just sit and sniff the rollerball. It has a decent wear time, though I think it would be better in spray form. Possibly my favourite thing about this perfume is that it isn’t heady – it doesn’t lodge itself into my nostrils and slowly give me a headache. I’ve found my Elizabeth and James Nirvana Black does that sometimes which is such a shame because it’s another lovely scent…

I have loved the Origins Clear Improvement Active Charcoal Mask for ages – I think it was one of the first high end masks I bought, and I instantly fell for it. I’ve been out for a while, though, and once again picked up the Origins mask trio set during Sephora’s Black Friday sale and fell in love all over again. I am definitely going to need to pick up the full size when I use this up.

I ran out of Urban Decay’s All Nighter Setting Spray in the summer and told myself that I didn’t need to repurchase it because it didn’t really do much anyway, but once I was out of it boy did I notice the difference in the wear time of my makeup! My blush and bronzer disappeared almost immediately, but foundation didn’t last nearly as long either…basically this is a staple that I can’t get enough of.

Makeup For Ever Smokey Extravagent Mascara was part of Sephora’s birthday gift in 2014 and I just loved it! Both products from that gift set are in these favourites because I seriously haven’t stopped using them and this might end up being the first full-size high end mascara I end up buying.

2014fave_3

The second half of Sephora’s birthday gift for 2014, Makeup For Ever Rouge Artist Natural in Copper Pink is the perfect MLBB on me. It is a gorgeous pink with just a hint of a brown (hence the copper pink moniker) and it glides on super smooth, leaving the lips nice and moisturized. I’m going to be one sad beauty blogger when I inevitably reach the end of the bullet.

I may have forgotten to include Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate in the photographs for this post, but I definitely haven’t forgotten about it all together. This oil is so hydrating and refreshing for the skin – I wore it nightly for months and my skin was so plump and perfectly hydrated. It was especially wonderful during the cold Alberta winters where the wind liked to try to suck every last lick of moisture out of my skin. The Midnight Recovery Concentrate put the moisture right back in.

Burt’s Bees Lip Balm in Pomegranate is another winter saviour that I have sadly run out of. It is one of the most moisturizing lip balms in the drugstore and it has a very slight tint that makes your lips just look good.

Do I need to say anything about NARS Creamy Concealer? This is a cult favourite for a reason – it is a hydrating, full coverage concealer that manages to cover blemishes and make your skin look glowing all in one package.

The beauty sponge was all the rage in 2014 thanks to the Beauty Blender, which I have yet to try, but I do have the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge and I can definitely see what the hype about these egg-sponges are all about. The Miracle Complexion Sponge blends foundation like nothing I’ve ever used before and at just about half the price of the Beauty Blender you really can’t go wrong.

This year was the year of tarte Amazonian Clay blushes for me. I first fell in love with Blushing Bride (which is pictured) which was my wedding blush and then I bought the Pin Up Girl blush palette and fell in love all over again. These blushes pack a serious pigmentation punch that truly do last for hours (though I can’t say it’s 12 on me). I definitely think I’m going to be exploring more shades in this gorgeous range in 2015.

I have raved about Sephora Matte Lip Cream in 01 before on Up the Rollercoaster and if you’ve been reading this blog for a while you’ll know that I originally bought it in 2013, but I really fell for it this past year. It is such a fantastic red shade that I think would really suit anyone, and the formula can’t be beat. It’s moisturizing but matte and stays on all day. It seriously doesn’t budge. It’s going to be a sad day when I run out of this lip cream!

I waffled on whether to include Revlon Brow Fantasy Duo in Dark Brown because I feel like I use it more out of laziness than anything, but I do reach for it every single day. It is so easy to use – the dual pencil and gel ends make it the lazy girls best friend and the product stays put all day without fail. I just wish there was a little more product to it…

I reviewed Maybelline Color Tattoo in Bad to the Bronze in November and used it for just about two months straight after that. It’s just so easy to slap on in the mornings and because it has a bit of a sheen to it you can make it look you put more work into your makeup than you really did with the right smudging.

Boy that was a lot to get through! If you stuck around, you’re da bomb! What were some of your favourite products from 2014?

6 thoughts on “2014 Favourites

    • I’ve just run out of mine and Maybelline Fit Me is pretty much the same thing, just with less shades! If the Maybelline one had a shade lighter I probably wouldn’t go back to NARS at all…

  1. There’s some great products in that roundup! I love that Bourjois foundation, it’s amazing. I have been wanting to get the Naked3 palette for a while now, it’s so pretty!

Leave a Reply

