Review: Kiss Me Organics Matcha Powder

Kiss Me Organics Matcha Powder

http://www.brandbacker.com/bob_cl_tk.js//

This post contains products that were sent to me for my consideration. Go here for my disclosure policy.

I adore green tea, but until a few weeks ago I had never tried matcha powder. It remained a foreign entity to me only pursued by much braver tea aficionados. I didn’t even want to think about the different brands I could try, not to mention the endless questions about how to even make it. Do I need the bamboo whisky thing? Do I just dump it in some water and stir? Why is it so fancy??

So when Kiss Me Organics Matcha Powder popped up on Brandbacker I surprised myself by requesting to review their product. I didn’t even know if I’d be able to make matcha, let alone write a post about it. Luckily I have friends who have more experience with matcha than I and gave me some tips.

First: the reason for the bamboo whisk is so you don’t bruise the matcha. Makes sense, huh? I don’t have a bamboo whisk but I do have a tiny silicone one that I like to use for mixing icing up so I figured that’d work if I was gentle.

Second: there are different grades of matcha. Now this makes complete sense but it didn’t even occur to me. Zoe told me that some matcha’s are made for baking in, while their finely milled, more expensive counterparts are the ones you’re meant to drink.

Kiss Me Organics Matcha Powder

I believe the matcha from Kiss Me Organics is the baking kind. At least I couldn’t figure out how to make it without it being very bitter. I boiled the water like I normally would for green tea – bringing it to a full boil, letting the water rest for 1 minute and then adding it to the matcha powder. I played with the amount of powder I used – 1 teaspoon, half a teaspoon, 3/4 teaspoon, 1/4 teaspoon…but no matter what I did it just didn’t taste good.

Luckily I made some amazing sugar cookies that have made me a matcha convert – at least for baking purposes. Not only are the cookies super tasty, but the are incredibly filling and give me a burst of energy from the matcha. Is that the perfect cookie, or what? The matcha is also pretty darn tasty in fruit smoothies (I like mango, strawberry and pineapple with it personally) and I’m looking forward to trying out muffins next.

Because I’m not drinking the matcha I expect the 4 oz that I received from Kiss Me Organics will last me a long time, so I don’t know if I will actually end up repurchasing this or not. I guess it totally depends on how addicted to baking with matcha I become! I think I’d really like to try out more matcha to see if I like the taste as a drink too, do you have any recommendations on matcha you’ve loved?

If you’re interested in trying out the Kiss Me Organics Matcha Powder you can order it from Amazon (US) (UK).

10 thoughts on “Review: Kiss Me Organics Matcha Powder

  1. I’m so glad you had better luck once you tried it in other ways. this is definitely a smoothie or baking matcha, those sugar cookies look and sound delicious! i have matcha in my smoothie almost every day so I like to cash in my davidstea steeper points for it since it can be pricey, they have a fancier grade you can also use for drinking 🙂

    • Yeah seriously the cookies were to die for. I need to make some more stat.

      Kiss Me Organics apparently also has a higher grade that I didn’t notice until this morning, so that’s something to investigate in the future too if I decide to get more matcha for drinking purposes.

  2. I have like, 0 experience with matcha, but BRUISING??? WHAT???? 2FANCY4ME.
    Those sugar cookies + smoothies sound amazing! I have heard of people adding matcha to their powder masks, so maybe you could try that out?

  3. For some reason, I’d convinced myself I didn’t like matcha without even trying it. I tried a matcha red bean smoothie once which was ok. Green tea is ok. But I can imagine what matcha powder would taste like plain with water, blerg. But making it seems like an ART lol. The sugar cookies sound good tho!

    Sheri | Behind The Frames

  4. Aww that’s too bad that you didn’t like drinking it. I found it quite refreshing to drink actually, but I guess I’m more into the “bitter” matcha taste lol. Omg matcha cookies sound so good!

Leave a Reply

