The Cold Season Saviours

Earlier this month I had a cold that just would not leave me alone – three weeks of sniffling, coughing nastiness, ick. I did all of the usual the usual remedies – drinking extra water, popping vitamin C, trying to get more sleep, dayquil, nightquil, cough drops, vicks vapo rub etc etc etc but nothing was giving me any relief.

Enter the Cold & Flu Comfort Tea Sets from David’s Tea.

The Cold Season Saviours

These little boxes of tea were the only things that have been keeping me sane. (Well, that and that Korra has become very cuddly!) These teas make everything a little bit better – if I’m exhausted from coughing the night away, there’s caffeinated teas to perk me up. If my throat is sore, Cold Zing and Liquorice Twist soothe it. If all I want to do is fall asleep, The Big Chill lulls me there.*happy sigh* But let’s get a little more in depth, hmm?

Cold & Flu Comfort Daytime Relief

The Cold Season Saviours

Cold Zing is a citrusy green tea that I’ve been having every morning to try to help my cough and sore throat combination. It’s been really nice to soothe just everything – throat, tummy….

Ingredients: Green tea, lemongrass, peppermint, orange pieces, eleuthero root, echinacea, natural lime flavouring.

Honey Bee is a creamy, honey flavoured mate that is so delicious and is really nice on the throat too. I’m not normally a huge fan of rooibos but mixed in with the rest of this tea it just adds the perfect amount of creaminess. It’s a mate so it’s packed with caffeine which is always nice, but especially when you’re feeling under the weather.

Ingredients: Red and green rooibos, honeybush, green mate, lemon myrtle, lemon bits, calendula petals, blue cornflowers, natural and artificial flavouring.

Secret Weapon is a tea that you need to be careful with how long you steep it – it gets too sweet pretty fast. That being said this is a deliciously sweet tea that is easy on the stomach. I wouldn’t necessarily save this for colds because it is just that tasty.

Ingredients: Almonds, white Bai Mu Dan tea, orange peel, goji berries, cocoa nibs, liquorice root, blue cornflowers, natural and artificial flavouring.

Cold & Flu Comfort Nightime Relief

The Cold Season Saviours

Organic Cold 911 was my first foray into tea that makes you feel better and while I wasn’t blown away at first, there is something about it that just helps you feel a little bit more yourself. I feel like it’s the combination of peppermint and orange that just puts a bit more a spring in your step.

Ingredients: Organic peppermint, apple, juniper berries. With natural eucalyptus and orange flavouring.

Licorice Twist has been my night time pick since getting this cold. It is sweet but not over poweringly so and is a miracle worker on sore throats.

Ingredients: Licorice root, nana mint, fennel seeds, anise seeds, cocoa, candied pineapple, ginger, peppermint, nettle leaf, chilli, bruised pepper, cardamom, cloves, cinnamon, safflower blossoms, marigold blossoms.

Organic The Big Chill is Dylan’s favourite of the bunch – it seriously puts you to sleep. It’s the perfect before bed tea any time, but it’s especially nice when you’ve got a cold because it again has a bit of sweetness to it but the mint in there takes the tea up another soothing notch. This might have even replaced Sleepytime in our tea repertoire.

Ingredients: Organic apple, lemon balm, silver lime flowers, apple mint, mango, lemon myrtle, peppermint, apricot, valerian root, sunflower. With natural vanilla flavouring.

Now I just need to get my hands on the Tummy Troubles set and I will be prepared for anything…

How do you deal with being sick?

6 thoughts on “The Cold Season Saviours

Leave a Reply

