Review: Tea Ave Jasmine Oolong & Aroma Cup Set

Tea Ave

This post contains products that were sent to me for my consideration. Go here for my disclosure policy.

As promised, I have some reviews of the goodies that Tea Ave sent my way. I was given three teas to review: Osmanthus Oolong, Magnolia Oolong and (my favourite) Jasmine Oolong, as well as their aroma cup set. I was planning on doing all the reviews in one post but it just got a little crazy in length, so I will be saving the Osmanthus and Magnolia reviews for future reviews!

First up, let’s chat about the Aroma Cup set. I had never tried anything like this before and I admit that I was crazy intimidated by it. So much so that I shuffled it to the back of my kitchen counter for a few weeks, just visible enough to cause guilt, but not in the way enough for me to bite the bullet and figure out how to use it. It actually wasn’t until Sarah posted her review that I was able to unpack the set and pour myself some tea.

Tea Ave Aroma Cup Set

How it works: you brew your tea like normal, then you fill the aroma cup – the tall, skinny one. This process was messy for me because I used a mug, but if you brewed your tea in a pot the spout would make it much easier. After that, you put the drinking cup over top of the aroma cup and flip them over. I was surprised at how mess-free that part was – I expected tea to get everywhere but I didn’t actually spill any! You can then smell the aroma from the aroma cup and can drink the tea from the tasting cup to make your experience that much more luxurious.

While I really enjoyed using the aroma cup set for review purposes, I doubt I will pull it out very often. I don’t like to have to think about my tea or faff around with extra steps, so I will only be pulling out this set every once in a while – maybe for new teas! But it is an incredibly beautiful set of tea ware to have – the oak display board is just gorgeous, and the cups themselves are simple and delicate.I especially enjoyed the aroma cup – it really did make a big difference in being able to smell the notes!

Now the part that I am most excited to share with you…the Tea Ave Jasmine Oolong tea. This was my favourite of the three teas I received, but I’m not surprised – Jasmine green tea is one of my favourite teas ever. I’m now thinking it’s the Jasmine taste and not the combination of the Jasmine and the green tea that I like so much.

Tea Ave Jasmine Oolong

Tea Ave describes their Jasmine Oolong as “a flower tea with an inviting floral scent and a clean, strong taste [with] the flavor of Jasmine blossoms overlaying earthy oolong undertones.” I have to say I agree 100%, though that description doesn’t quite do the tea justice. There is so much depth to this tea – I honestly didn’t know it was possible for a tea to taste like this. Every steep revealed another set of flavours for me to experience and it was so lovely.

Tea Ave Jasmine Oolong

On first steep, the tea smells very floral and sweet – almost like I stuck my head out a window into a garden full of blooming flowers. And the taste followed the scent – it was light and almost as if I were drinking flower petals. The second steep revealed a slight earthiness that, in combination with the (now slightly muted) floral notes from before, created the perfect tea. I remember staring at the tea in disbelief after I took my first sip and actually thinking god that’s good. The third and final steep didn’t disappoint either, though it continued to expand towards a depth that I didn’t know a tea could get to. The floral notes dissipated almost completely, only appearing at the tail end of each sip, leaving behind a deep, earthy taste in my mouth.

I just read that back and realized I said earthy a lot in that paragraph, but I honestly don’t think there’s another way to describe this tea. Unless we go for amazing or delicious.

Hmm…did I rave too much there? I feel like I might have. But know you know how much I really love that tea. I am seriously considering purchasing it for myself. In fact, I think I know how I’m going to be spending the gift card they included with my package…

Stay tuned for the review of the other two teas! There’s an exciting giveaway in it for you…

9 thoughts on “Review: Tea Ave Jasmine Oolong & Aroma Cup Set

  1. I’m so glad my review was helpful! I looked at the aroma set for way too long trying to figure it out before I googled it. It is a super pretty set to look at though!

  2. Pingback: REVIEW | Tea Ave Magnolia Oolong & Osmanthus Oolong* (+ Giveaway!) | Up the Rollercoaster

Leave a Reply

