The Concealer Library

The Concealer Library

For those of us with less than perfect skin, concealer is a must-have in our makeup collection. Between dark circles, acne (and the subsequent scarring), not to mention over-sized pores and fine lines that are starting to form (sigh) my skin is definitely a challenge to cover up. Over the past year I have been obsessed with finding the perfect concealer – one that will cover up all of that yuckiness without settling into any of those fine lines or pores. AKA a miracle worker that, as it turns out, doesn’t exist in one form, but in several.

The Concealer Library

I have managed to collect three different concealers with three different undertones to them for what I like to think of as the light reflectors or the do-it-all concealers. These are the ones I reach for when I am having a good skin day, which for me means mostly redness and no active spots. These are all lighter, liquid concealers that are the least likely to settle into my pores, though I do avoid using them near the fine lines, just in case.

The first, and the one that has been in my collection for years (through multiple repurchases) is the Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 10 Light. This concealer doesn’t quite work with my winter skin, but is great for summer skin when I’ve got a bit more of a tan. It is the more warm-toned of the three concealers so it is better for covering undereye circles than blemishes and redness.

The most recent addition to my concealer wardrobe is the L’Oreal True Match Concealer in Fair/Light Cool, which is obviously the more cool-toned of the three. It’s my favourite drug store concealer because it is so great for hiding redness, though it doesn’t quite give the lift that I crave for around my eye area.

My favourite is the NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer in Vanilla. This is the do it all of the do-it-all concealers – it has a neutral undertone and has a higher coverage than the other two, so it conceals all. To a certain extent, at least. It’s a bit heavier than Maybelline or L’Oreal’s offerings so it does tend to show off those pores a bit more if you use too heavy of a hand.

When sleep has been unsuccessful and my under eyes are looking particularly purple out come the dark circle erasers. These two concealers are peachy toned so cancel out as much of that bluey purple tiredness as is possible.

The Concealer Library

The most expensive concealer in my wardrobe, the Bobbi Brown Concealer Kit in Cool Sand, is a cream concealer and powder duo that is perfect for cancelling out the deepest blue in the corner of my eyes. I tend to avoid using this one towards the middle of my eyes where those fine lines start because this one does cozy right into the lines. The yellow-toned powder is a nice addition into this kit which sets the concealer and adds another level of brightness to the eyes, though it’s not something I use every day.

The drugstore alternative for combating dark circles is the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Dark Circle Eraser in Light. I won’t go into too much detail for this one as it’s been raved about all over the blogosphere for years now, but it’s got the perfect peachy tone to combat the dark circles while having a light enough formula that it doesn’t settle into fine lines. I would definitely choose this one over the Bobbi Brown in a repurchasing situation.

I have searched and searched for the perfect full coverage spot concealer and I think I’ve found it in the Make Up For Ever Full Cover Concealer in 1. For the longest time I was adamant that my NARS concealer was good enough, but it just wasn’t cutting it for me. The Full Cover Concealer covers any matter of sins, though because it is heavy, it sinks into pores if you’re not careful. A little bit of the concealer goes a very long way and I find pores are least affected when you dot the tiniest amount on the tip of a makeup sponge and gently dab it into the spots. The sponge blends it out perfectly while depositing the perfect amount of concealer onto the blemish.

Swatches (left to right):

Swatches (left to right): L’Oreal True Match Concealer in Fair/Light Cool, Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 10 Light, NARS Creamy Radiant Concealer in Vanilla, Make Up For Ever Full Cover Concealer in 1, Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Dark Circle Eraser in Light ,Bobbi Brown Concealer Duo in Cool S and (concealer followed by powder).

I swear the concealers actually match the skin on my face, even though they look far too dark on my arm. 😉

What’s your absolute favourite concealer? Am I missing anything crucial from my library?

7 thoughts on “The Concealer Library

  1. Jodi, are these all the concealers you own?! Because now I know I have too many (9 and I’m trying to acquire 2 more). Eek. I really like the Rimmel Wake Me Up concealers! I have 2 in different shades – one for colour correcting and another to match me. The shade range is iffy though. Apparently the NYX tube concealer is good, though I haven’t tried it yet. It’s on my wishlist (not part of the 2 I mentioned earlier ahaha…).

    • Haha I have two that I didn’t include in here because I’m uncertain about them. I have more on my wishlist though! (Laura Mercier Secret Camoflauge for instance). I really want to try some of the NYX concealers! Especially their correctors. I haven’t tried any of the Wake Me Up line though I keep staring at it in SDM.

  2. Oddly enough I’m just not that big on concealers. Have tried the MUFE Full Cover before but was mismatched to a wrong shade and I never went back. You’re making me want to take another look though! And MUFE’s HD Concealer is actually lovely but really underrated for some reason (pricey and tiny). I want to try those Maybellines if I ever get through my Sonia Kashuk palette/theBalm pot. So, in like 5 years. ;O

    • I’ve found Full Cover can be a bit tough to work with because it is so thick, but it’s definitely worth another look if you’re up for it! For some reason I have never even looked at the HD Concealer which is strange, I might have to take a look!

  3. Pingback: Review: Marcelle BB Cream | Up the Rollercoaster

  4. Pingback: The Makeup Wardrobe | Up the Rollercoaster

Leave a Reply

