REVIEW | Maybelline Rebel Bloom Color Tattoos in Black Orchid & Petunia Punk

Maybelline Color Tattoos in Black Orchid & Petunia Punk

When I first saw Maybelline’s Limited Edition Rebel Bloom Color Tattoos, I was pretty underwhelmed. Nothing in the collection really screamed buy me…though now that I’ve looked again I am wondering what exactly is wrong with me. Maybe it was all the snow that keeps appearing in Halifax, or maybe I just wasn’t in a makeup-y mood but spring is certainly calling to me right now and this collection answered. Namely in the way of the Black Orchid and Petunia Punk.

Black Orchid is a lovely smokey purple that leans lilac in some lights and pink in others. When I first saw it in the display I thought it looked very similar to Bad to the Bronze, but Julie convinced me otherwise. I couldn’t resist. It seems to be the perfect winter-to-spring transition colour: a neutral with a bit of somethin’ somethin’ tacked onto the edges. This one does need a primer or concealer underneath to stop from creasing, but the beauty of the colour totally makes the extra step worth it for me.

Maybelline Rebel Bloom Color Tattoo in Black Orchid

Maybelline Rebel Bloom Color Tattoo in Black Orchid

Petunia Punk is a pastely cool-toned pink that doesn’t show up very much on my fair skin, but adds a bit of brightness to my eyes. It’s actually perfect for those days when I don’t want to wear much makeup or when I’m really tired and need a bit of help looking awake. If you have Urban Decay’s Naked 3, this colour is super similar to Dust, though in a creamy formula, of course.

Maybelline Rebel Bloom Color Tattoo in Petunia Punk

Maybelline Rebel Bloom Color Tattoo in Petunia Punk

And just in case you aren’t convinced of their beauty, here is a close up swatch of both Petunia Punk and Black Orchid with the cult favourite Bad to the Bronze as a comparison.

Maybelline Rebel Bloom Color Tattoos in Black Orchid & Petunia Punk

Gah, so beautiful.

14 thoughts on “REVIEW | Maybelline Rebel Bloom Color Tattoos in Black Orchid & Petunia Punk

  1. Black Orchid is really, REALLY neat! I’m staying away from Color Tattoos because they don’t really work for me (they make my eyelids look like sandpaper oddly enough), but I’m loving watching you guys get them and swatch them!

    • What’s important is that you got it! 🙂 (Though I understand the rural problem all too well – I grew up in rural Alberta where the only real store in town was Walmart…)

  2. Black Orchid looks just like my thing! I’ve had good experience with these, although the last one I got (chocolate suede I think it’s called) doesn’t want to apply evenly! I hope that’s an exception.

  3. Pingback: The Makeup Wardrobe | Up the Rollercoaster

  4. These look so lovely on you, but I think they would just show up as shimmery bleh on me. Bad to the Bronze though…I LOVE so much.

Leave a Reply

