Spring Pastel Nails with Angela

Hi everyone! I’m Angela over at Do Want Makeup, guest posting today on Jodi’s lovely blog. April’s guest post theme is pastels, and obviously, my thoughts immediately went to nail polish! I’ve been on the lookout for some time for a pale, dusty blue polish and I’m so happy with the one I’m featuring today in some pretty, spring-appropriate nail art:

Spring Pastels with Angela

All of my Zoya polishes have a fantastic, smooth formula and Zoya Kristen is no exception. This polish flowed smoothly over the nail and was opaque in two coats. I finished the look with gold polka dots using Orly Luxe (I am always greedy and add too many polka dots, though! I need to space them out more.) I wore this to a tea party with some friends, and it was spot-on for a girly, elegant afternoon.

Spring Pastels with Angela

Pastel polishes can sometimes be streaky, goopy, or otherwise unforgiving, but Kristen is perfect. The muted, pale blue shade is exactly what I’m in the mood to wear in spring, between fall’s bold, dark shades, and summer brights. Although it’s lovely on its own, I can also imagine this worn in a gradient with white, or with large, white polka dots for a cute retro look.

Dots are such an easy way to add a little something to your base colour. You don’t need a dotting tool–anything with a rounded end will work, such as a chopstick, the round ends of bobby pin, or a dull pencil. Choose a very opaque shade (I love Orly’s Foil FX polishes) and when dotting, try to picture a grid on your nail and dot where the lines intersect.

What kind of colours put you in the mood for spring?

Thank you so much to Angela for this beautiful take on spring pastels! I’m a sucker for polka dots so this is right up my alley!

//static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js?v=116

4 thoughts on “Spring Pastel Nails with Angela

Leave a Reply

