Review: Marcelle BB Cream

Finding the perfect my skin but better base is the eternal struggle of the beauty blogger. I think I’m still in search of mine, but the Marcelle BB Cream ($22.95/45mL) has certainly pushed into a high spot in my arsenal.

Review: Marcelle BB Cream

Marcelle Cosmetics is a Canadian cosmetics company whose sister company is Annabelle Cosmetics. Both are based out of Montreal, PQ and are quickly becoming two of my favourite cosmetics companies at the drugstore.

Before this BB Cream, I had entirely dismissed the Alphabet creams as gimmicks. I’m still not sure how much different than a tinted moisturizer they are, but I am really enjoying using the Marcelle BB Cream on light makeup days or under foundation for a bit more coverage oomph. This BB Cream is non-comodogenic, is hypoallergenic, gluten-free and oil-free so it’s pretty easy on the skin and my skin loves it, rather than the hating life like it usually does.

The Marcelle BB cream has extremely light coverage – enough to even out the skin tone but not to cover up any darkness or blemishes. Because the coverage is so light and doesn’t build up much, I love to pair it with a high coverage concealer for those trouble spots and a good dose of bronzer. It makes for the perfect weekend face.

Possibly the most impressive aspect of this BB Cream (for me) is the shade range – I actually found a shade that matches my skin tone and doesn’t make me look orange! The Fair shade is a perfect match for my ghostly complexion, which is something that is not easily done at the drug store, let me tell you. Unfortunately there aren’t a lot of options for darker skinned ladies, though if you have medium-dark skin I’d definitely google some swatches.

On my normal to oily skin the Marcelle BB Cream lasts fairly well throughout the day – I do notice that it wears off faster around my blemishes, but that’s pretty normal for my face. If you’re a person who can be bothered to powder that definitely could help the lasting power, but I’m more of a set it and forget it girl. I think this BB Cream would work wonderfully for any skin type, actually. It’s hydrating enough for dry skin and doesn’t stick to any of the dry patches I’ve encountered on my face, but it’s not too much for the oily skin parts. The biggest downside to this BB Cream is how much you need to cover your face – it’s quite thick going on the skin, which makes the skin feel amazing and hydrated but my skin just sucks it right in. Mixing some face oil in it does help to stretch the product without losing much coverage but most mornings I can’t be bothered.

And now for the proof: some before and after photos of my skin before and after using the Marcelle BB Cream.

Review: Marcelle BB Cream

Before: Bare faced, spots and all

Review: Marcelle BB Cream

With BB Cream, before concealer. Note the blurred acne scars and a general more even skin tone.

Review: Marcelle BB Cream

Finished makeup look

Also On My Face:

  • NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer (Vanilla)
  • Annabelle Biggy Bronzer in Matte Gold*
  • Anastasia Beverly Hilly Brow Powder Duo in Soft Brown
  • Dior Diorshow Brow Styler in 001 Universal Brown
  • Eyeko Brow Gel
  • Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara

Marcelle BB Cream is available at mass retailers and comes in 5 shades.

//static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js?v=116

13 thoughts on “Review: Marcelle BB Cream

  1. Hey Jodi, I’ve heard great things about this particular BB cream and I’m happy you love it, too! It really does look natural, and the shade is an excellent match! Marcelle and Annabelle really have to expand out of North America ASAP!

  2. I think it did a nice job of covering imperfections! It’s good to know that it’s nice on both dry and oily areas as I have combination skin that leans more on the dry side.

  3. Pingback: Gold & Plum with Makeup Geek Burlesque | Up the Rollercoaster

  4. Pingback: Project Make a Dent 2016 • Up the Rollercoaster

  5. Pingback: Makeup Wardrobe: April 2016 • Up the Rollercoaster

  6. Pingback: Empties & Tosses #14 | Up the Rollercoaster

  7. Pingback: Covergirl Clean Matte BB Cream in 510 Fair Review, Swatches & FOTD | Up the Rollercoaster

Leave a Reply

