The Makeup Wardrobe

This post contains products that were sent to me for my consideration. Go here for my disclosure policy.

Favourites posts are certainly fun to round up but I’ve been searching for a snazzier way to share what I’ve been loving with you. Enter The Makeup Wardrobe series. Every month I will feature either skincare or makeup that I have been loving lately, with a potential bonus for nail care, hair care, bath products, tea…etc etc. It’s more entertaining for me to write, for you to read and you can see the products in action. Sound good?

I have been circling between two looks this month: one with a bright lip, one with a natural lip. Everything has been about easy and light. Both my skin and I are tired of winter and it’s time for some glow up in hurrrrr.

The Makeup Wardrobe

I started this off with moisturizer – lots of it. Slathering my face in the stuff has been making my angry spots a tiny bit less angry and hey, I’ll take it. But what’s really been making my face look its best is my latest obsession – the NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation. This foundation has been getting a lot of mixed reviews in the blogosphere – people seem to either hate or love it. I am in the latter camp. I can get away without concealer when I use this – and that is nothing short of a miracle in my books. Add the glow it gives my angry skin and I’m sold!

That being said, I do use a tiny bit of my holy grail NARS Creamy Radiant Concealer on my under eyes to get rid of the blue that just won’t go away, but in comparison to what I had been using before this foundation…that’s nothin.

If you follow me on Instagram, you will know that I have been utterly obsessed with Annabelle’s Matte Biggy Bronzer since I received it back in March. Not a day goes by that I don’t throw this on my face. I kind of contour with it – I mean, I use it on the perimeters of my face and my cheekbones (and recently on the top of my nose) but that’s not really contouring. Maybe lazy-girl contouring. But it adds the perfect amount of warmth to my face while giving it some dimension without a whole lot of effort. Perfection.

On the few days that I wear blush, it’s been all about dat coral. Specifically the Milani Rose Blush in Coral Cove. I mean…not only is it beautiful to look at, but it is gorgeous on the cheeks. It doesn’t emphasize my birth mark or acne scarring like pinker shades tend to do but it really adds some life into my pasty skin.

The Makeup Wardrobe

Now we go into uncharted territory. (Okay, not really. I just really wanted to say that.) For my bold lip look I go minimal on the eyes – no shadow or liner, just a touch of mascara and a good ol’ curl courtesy of Tarte’s eyelash curler. A quick swipe of the Clinique Pop Lip Color + Primer in Poppy Pop and I’m out the door.

The Makeup Wardrobe

For a bit of a more natural, easy to maintain look I pat Maybelline Color Tattoo in Petunia Punk over NYX High Definition Eye Shadow Base and dab on L’Oreal Paris Collection Exclusive lipstick in Julianne’s Nude. Mascara optional. I know, what is up with that? I recently discovered how nice it is not to take off mascara at night and how strangely light my lashes feel without it…so it hasn’t been a staple this month.

As for Julianne’s nude… it’s been a favourite for months now and I just can’t stop wearing it. It’s the PERFECT pinky nude for my skin tone. And Petunia Punk? Yep. It’s pretty much always on my lids, nude lips or not. It looks gorgeous in combination with Poppy Pop!

The Makeup Wardrobe

Also on my face:

  • L’Oreal Voluminous Power 24 Hour Mascara
  • Guerlain The Eyebrow Pencil
  • Urban Decay All Nighter Setting Spray

What have you been loving this month?

//static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js?v=116

18 thoughts on “The Makeup Wardrobe

  1. I love that L’Oreal lipstick! I’ve been searching for a good selection of that collection, but everytime I see one there is very minimal choice left!

  2. Love the idea of this series Jodi! I’m so jealous of that Milani blush, it is so so gorgeous and i need it in my life. I also love that you gave the two options but they both look great on you and you the perfect naturally gorgeous lashes for no mascara.

    Courtney xxxx

  3. I like seeing what your favourites are plus you actually show us how you wear them – genius! A dark vampy lip and a touch of mascara is one of my favourite combinations. It looks great on you 🙂

    • Thanks Whitney! 🙂 L’Oreal have some of my faves too, there’s just something about their wands and formula that make them so so nice. If you check out the Clinique lipsticks let me know what you think!

  4. I want to pick up one of those Milani blushes sometime! I don’t wear mascara that often – I’m trying to wear it more but I can’t be fussed a lot of the time.

  5. I haven’t read the reviews on the new NARS foundation yet, but it looks amazing on you! I think it makes your skin look kinda ~glowy~. (That, or your moisturizers are doing an amazing job)

    YASSS. I picked up the same Milani blush today after finally seeing it in stock again. I saw it in stores a few weeks back but didn’t buy it, and by the time I came back a few days later, it was all sold out. Anyways, IT’S JUST GORGEOUSNESS. THE EMBOSSING. THE SHADE. /HEART-EYED EMOJI/

    • It’s definitely the foundation! I haven’t been using it lately and I just looked at the photos and daaang. Gonna have to go back to it 😉

      YES. I’m so happy that you got it! It’s just the most beautiful blush! I’m so obsessed and I’ve never been obsessed with a blush before.

Leave a Reply

