The Body Conditioner Face Off: Nivea vs Lush

I have been a fan of in-shower body lotions for a few years now – specifically LUSH’s Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner. It’s a quick and easy way to bring some moisture into your skin without having to worry about letting anything sink in before you can get dressed for the day. And when I lived in the prairies moisturizer was something my skin craved every day so I was all about making it quick and easy! Since moving to the maritimes I haven’t needed as much moisturizer, but I thought it would be fun to do a comparison of my beloved Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner to Nivea’s new In-Shower range.

Nivea vs. LUSH

Let’s start off with LUSH. The Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner ($32.95/240 g)comes in LUSH’s typical plastic black pot, making it easy to scoop out the desired amount of conditioner when showering. The downside of that is that water can get inside pretty easily which isn’t exactly ideal, though it’s not enough of an issue for me to make it really worrisome.

Now onto the actual product inside the pot – it’s a thick, light pink cream that smells like roses mixed with a nuttiness that makes it really quite pleasant to me, though my husband hates the smell. So I’d definitely recommend sniffing this one in store before you buy. If you really can’t get passed the smell, LUSH has a few other scents you can choose from.

The cream itself is instantly nourishing when you rub it into your skin. There is a bit of oil left behind, showcased by water beading off of the skin, but I actually like that. It doesn’t transfer to your clothes or your towel, it just leaves your skin super hydrated, even in the midst of a prairie winter.

(It also makes a ballin shave cream that gives you a super close shave while leaving your skin soooooo soft.)

Ingredients:  Water (Aqua), Glycerine, Almond Oil, Cypress Leaf Infusion, Brazil Nut Oil, Fair Trade Organic Vanilla Pod Infusion, Fair Trade Shea Butter, Stearic Acid, Argan Oil, Cupuacu Butter, Fragrance, Triethanolamine, Fair Trade Organic Cocoa Butter, Goji Berry Juice, Rose Absolut, Geranium Oil, Lemon Oil, Limonene, Cetearyl Alcohol, Citronellol, Coumarin, Geraniol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben.

So as you can see, there are a lot of really great oils in there – almond, brazil nut, shea butter…but there’s also parabens??? So if that’s something that you’re worried about keep that in mind.

As you can see, both products are nice and creamy, though Nivea's is definitely easier to swatch nicely!

As you can see, both products are nice and creamy, though Nivea’s is definitely easier to swatch nicely!

Moving on to Nivea – there are a three different body conditioners you can choose from in Nivea’s range all depending on how dry your skin is. I decided to showcase the In-Shower Body Milk (~$6.77/400 mL) as it is labeled as being best for Dry to Very Dry Skin, which I would argue is also what LUSH’s Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner would be best suited for.

Unlike LUSH – Nivea’s conditioner comes in a handy squeeze tube not unlike a conditioner. It fits perfectly amongst the rest of my in-shower products and it’s super duper easy to use. There’s no worry of getting water into this one!

It has a pretty standard scent to it – if you’ve every smelled anything from Nivea, you’ll know what I mean. It’s definitely less offensive than LUSH’s take, but it’s a bit less pleasant to me. The body milk is a white cream that isn’t as thick in consistency as the Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner, though it’s just as moisturizing afterwards.

Ingredients: Water, Microcrystalline wax, Mineral Oil, Glycerin, Cetearyl Alcohol, Hydrogenated Coco-Glycerides, Stearyl Alcohol, Myristyl Alcohol, Fragrance, Sweet Almond Oil, Sodium Carbomer, Aodium Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Phenoxyethanol.

There are a whole lot more things in the In-Shower Body Milk’s ingredients list that goes right over my head than in the Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner. There may not be parabens, but there is mineral oil which I find can be pretty clogging to my pores. This hasn’t been TOO bad because I’ve been exfoliating so much, though.

To test these two products I actually used the In-Shower Body Milk on one half of my body and the Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner on the other and then asked my husband which felt softer. He couldn’t tell a difference and honestly, neither could I. It all comes down to your budget, preference for scents and what ingredients you want to put on your body. I personally won’t need to repurchase a body conditioner for quite some time – I actually won a huge Nivea prize pack from Natalie that included all three of the Nivea body conditioners – but when I do I think I will be going back to LUSH.

PS – both of these products can cause slippery feet and/or showers, so make sure to rinse really well and be careful of slippage!

What’s your favourite way to moisturize your skin?

14 thoughts on “The Body Conditioner Face Off: Nivea vs Lush

  1. great comparison! I think the Nivea packaging makes it easier to use,
    but the ingredient comparison is quite interesting! I have the african paradise one from lush and i do love it 🙂

  2. Great comparison! Lush has included parabens since they will preserve the product for longer. Truthfully, I would prefer putting in parabens (or any perservatives) than having the product go bad more quickly. Products with water (like the Lush product) tend to go bad really quickly unless they have preservatives. Parabens have been used in cosmetics for many years and are known to be safe so I wouldn’t be concerned about them. A lot of products marketed as being paraben free usually just use different preservatives for marketing purposes. It’s also a myth than mineral oil clogs pores. *Rant over*

  3. Hey Jodi, ha you sound just as upset as I was when I discovered parabens on LUSH ingredient lists! I mean, I really think it contradicts with the brand image as well. I’ve never tried any in-shower moisturizer. They sound cool, but I’m worried about the slipping! I am pretty clumsy as it is!

  4. I love these kinds of reviews, especially when the products take such opposite views to solve the same problem or function as you showcased here. You can’t beat Lush ingredients-wise. If money was no factor then for sure I’d go for them, but practically speaking I think I’d use Nivea just b/c of the cost:value ratio and for a product you use up as quickly as a body lotion, it just makes more sense to me.

  5. Pingback: Tub Time: LUSH Golden Wonder Gift Set | Up the Rollercoaster

Leave a Reply

