MAC Lustering

If you would have told me even six months ago that my most worn MAC lipstick would be a pink one, I probably would have laughed at you. I’m not a pink sort of person and the only pink lipsticks that I generally go for are natural, rosey shades. So a bright one like MAC Lustering? Looks like this is one of those instances where trying something out of my comfort zone has worked out in my favour.

MAC Lustering

Granted, MAC Lustering isn’t pink as in Barbie pink or a crazy hot pink like Viva Glam Miley, so it’s not SUPER bright. On me, Lustering runs somewhere between rosey and bright pink with the ability to really build it up into something more noticeable. Personally I like to wear it patted down into a My Lips But Pinker shade that is perfect for spring and summer.

MAC Lustering

Lustering is a (suitably enough) lustre finish lipstick, which for those of you who aren’t very familiar with MAC lipsticks, means that it’s a slightly sheer lipstick with a shine to it that’s very natural. It sits comfortably on the lips with a wear time of around two hours. I usually like my lipsticks to last longer than that, but Lustering wears down so naturally that I don’t need to worry about reapplying anyway.

MAC Lustering

 

Do you have a makeup item that you never thought you would like, but ended up loving?

//static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js?v=116

12 thoughts on “MAC Lustering

  1. I would’ve laughed so hard if Lustering hadn’t been a lustre shade. Haha.

    It’s so beautiful on you! I’m not a fan of the lustre formula (just doesn’t work for me), but I loooove seeing the shades in that finish on other people – so gorgeous!

    • I know right, wouldn’t it have been ridic? 😉

      I used to prefer mattes because they wear so much longer but when I realized how beautifully lustre shades wear down I was hooked. So much more comfortable on my lips (AND I don’t have to exfoliate, haha!)

  2. Haha you already know how I feel about this baby. I totally agree with you on how it wears down. I am the laziest person about re-applying and I have never had a problem either with this one!

  3. Hey Jodi, haha you sound like me! It took me a LONG time to finally come to terms with the fact that I do like pink as well, and there’s nothing to be ashamed of! I love Lustering on you. The finish makes it great for the warmer weather as well!

    • Thanks! 🙂 I don’t have that many, but they’re definitely nice! Though I think there are definitely some at the drugstore that have similar textures and lasting power. (NYX Butter lipstick comes to mind)

Leave a Reply

