NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation

NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation. What a mouthful! I can never remember the full name – usually I just refer to it as the new NARS foundation, but occasionally I’ll manage to spit out NARS All Day Luminous Foundation. “Weightless” never manages to make it across my lips, though I can’t say that has anything to do with how the product feels at all. More likely it’s all about the unfortunately long name. (All the adjectives!)

NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation

I’ve been trying to find the perfect high coverage foundation for my skin for quite a while now. I wanted something that covered my blemishes and dark circles without feeling or looking heavy. The ladies in my local Sephora know me on sight now and it’s not because I spend too much money there (though I do…) it’s because every time there was a new foundation I was in there asking for a sample, looking for my new holy grail. It was love at first swatch.

Or at least, first full application. When I first opened the little pot I was given I was taken aback. The NARS All Day Luminous Weightless foundation is seriously thin. Almost milky. I hope I never ever spill this because oh god there won’t be anything left. Thankfully NARS has included a pump with this foundation so that shouldn’t be an issue. I hope.

The key to this foundation is not to rush your application. If you need to get out the door fast this is not the foundation you want to choose. I find it applies best when I take a section of my face at a time – one pump generally does half of my face, so it’s pretty simple to split up. I’ve noticed when I’m rushed I tend to go in with a heavier hand and that is not pretty. If you smoosh it all into your face at once you are going to have a heavy, almost cakey looking foundation. Not saying that this isn’t buildable! It definitely is, but I usually do my whole face before I start applying another layer for a more seamless application.

I also find that using a makeup sponge really is your BFF with the NARS All Day Luminous Weightless foundation. I’ve had great experiences using both the beauty blender and the Real Techniques Miracle Sponge, but less so with my usual foundation brush suspects. Even my fingers don’t really work this foundation in as well as the sponges. There’s just something about the way the sponges apply the foundation that gives it this perfect, airbrushed finish that I can’t mimic with anything else.

NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation

I mean, look at that difference! Dark circles hidden, blemishes practically gone, shine dissipated…aka perfection. It’s definitely more of a satin finish than a luminous one, though I do find the luminosity comes back throughout the day. This is definitely a foundation that looks better the longer you wear it.

NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation

Just for context on how the foundation looks with a full look – I did add a biiiit of highlighter to my cheeks, but most of that glow is from the foundation. This photo was taken about an hour after I first put the foundation on and it honestly just gets prettier throughout the day. This is also the only foundation I own where my blush, bronzer and concealer stay put until I wash my makeup off at night. Concealer is usually the first to get eaten up by my skin, even with powder (darn oily acne…) but not with the NARS All Day Luminous Weightless foundation. They really do mean All Day when they say it.

With 20 shades to choose from (mine is Light 1 – Siberia, very aptly named), there’s a very high chance that you’ll find a match for you. You can find the NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation at Sephora for CA$57.00.

Also on my face:

What’s your go-to foundation?

22 thoughts on “NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation

  1. Oh wow, this looks great on you! I like hearing that a foundation gets better throughout the day. All the foundations I’ve really loved have always behaved that way for me.

  2. When this first came out, I was so intrigued. I had tried both the ‘Sheer’ foundation offering from Nars and didn’t quite love them. I’ve heard mixed things on this, but it looks really really good on you! 🙂 Glad it’s working out!

  3. I AM VERY INTRIGUED. Honestly, whenever I see foundations with thin consistencies I usually pass it off as sheer coverage, but I’m definitely going to have to give this a try, just for the heavier coverage! I don’t own a sponge, so I’ll have to make due with my fingers, but I’m sure I’ll be happy with the results nonetheless.

    Also, you forgot to include the shade name for the Anastasia brow product, heh ;p

  4. I love this foundation. I’ve been obsessed with it ever since NARS sent it to me. It has been my go to foundation ever since. I like that I can apply it with my fingers, if I want to, but I tend to apply it with my trust beauty blender.

    Even though it’s a medium coverage foundation, I find that you can build it up to be quite a full coverage foundation and it still looks amazing.

    You are right about the name though, it’s far too long. I just usually say pass me the foundation ‘int the frosty bottle’ and everyone knows which one I’m talking about, lol.

  5. Pingback: Maybelline Fit Me vs. Better Skin Foundation • Up the Rollercoaster

  6. Pingback: NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation in Siberia Light 1 Review + Swatches - WRITING WHIMSY

Leave a Reply

