Clinique Pop Lip Color + Primer in Poppy Pop

Clinique Pop Lip Color + Primer in Poppy Pop

I was going to wait to review the Clinique Pop Lip Color + Primer in Poppy Pop until I ultimately caved and bought a second shade (or third…), but I just couldn’t wait to share it with you. I love everything about this lipstick from the packaging, to the colour to the formula. Since I picked it up in the Spring VIB sale I’ve worn it more than any other lipstick I own. If that isn’t love, I don’t know what is.

Poppy Pop is a delightful red leaning orange with enough sheen to make your lips juicy and healthy, but not so much that it slips and slides off of your lips. I have a lot of fine lines in my lips and most lipsticks exaggerate them, but Poppy Pop just glides right over them. My lips don’t look flawless of course but they certainly look moisturized and happy.

The Clinique Pop Lip Color + Primer lipsticks are meant to last 6 or more hours before reapplication thanks to science but I find that without a lip liner Poppy Pop starts to wear down around the 5 hour mark. I mean… that’s still amazing, especially for a satin finish lipstick! As the lipstick wears, the sheen wears down to a comfortable matte that’s more like a stain. The lipstick also wears away really evenly so that even after the five hour mark you don’t get weird uneven patches of colour or (god-forbid) the dreaded ring of colour on the outside of your lipstick. Shudder.

Clinique Pop Lip Color + Primer in Poppy Pop

Most long-wearing lipsticks are dry and uncomfortable on the lips, but Clinique Pop Lip Color + Primer in Poppy Pop is comfortable and moisturizing. You’re definitely going to know you have lipstick on until it wears down to a matte, but it feels more like a lip balm than a traditional lipstick. Once the glossiness has worn down the lipstick feels light and I actually kept going to touch up the lipstick because it felt like it had worn off, but it was still there, fighting the good fight.

Clinique Pop Lip Color + Primer in Poppy Pop

This is one light pass of Poppy Pop – so opaque!

What drew me to lipstick in the first place wasn’t the formula or the beautiful red-orange shade, but the unique rectangular packaging of the lipstick bullet. Sure, it’s probably drawing inspiration from the NARS Audacious lipsticks, but I actually prefer the packaging of Clinique Pop Lip Color + Primer lipsticks. These lipsticks are bright and cheerful with each bullet being colour coded to the lipstick inside, so it’s perfect for display or for finding in a rush. I don’t often want to collect every item in a makeup range, but I truly do for this one. Not only are all of the shades incredibly wearable, but can you imagine having these displayed on a vanity? Beautiful!

(PS – wanna see Poppy Pop in action? Go check out my recent guest post on Workaday Beauty!)

What’s your favourite spring lipstick?

12 thoughts on “Clinique Pop Lip Color + Primer in Poppy Pop

    • Yeah, I love it so much! I really don’t know how long I’m going to be able to avoid Sephora to stop myself from buying another one in the range. Working in a mall is sometimes really bad 😛

  1. Pingback: Obsessed: Clinique Pop Lip Pop + Primer Lipsticks | Up the Rollercoaster

Leave a Reply

