TUTORIAL | Beauty Guide: The Glasses Edition

Makeup for Glasses

I’ve had a few requests for tips on how to make makeup work for glasses wearers, and what better way to share them than through a Beauty Guide post? I was super excited to write this until I sat down to write it – and then my brain went blank. How do I wear makeup any differently than someone without glasses? Do I at all? Sure, there are a lot of rules that glasses wearers are told to follow by magazines and bloggers alike, but are they actually necessary? The short answer – no. Makeup is makeup and you can wear it however you want. Though they do exist for a reason…

Makeup for Glasses

Prime. I haven’t honestly found a face primer that has changed my life yet, but eye primer has a specific stickiness to it that really makes product stay put. I’ve started to do my NYX HD Eyeshadow Base on the bridge of my nose where my foundation likes to wear off and I’ve noticed that it lasts a few hours longer before disappearing.

Brighten. I’ve noticed that my glasses seriously darken my under eyes (which are already dark, ick) and obscure any eyeshadow I put on my eyelids. So I always make sure to brighten my under eyes with my NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer in Chantilly as well as colour correct. As for the eyeshadow…I either go super bright (think a shimmery champagne shade) or concentrate on contrast, usually by darkening my crease more than I think it should be.

Define. In the past six months I have truly discovered the joy of the bold brow and though some days I will go bolder than others, I never do my makeup without my brows. With my dark frames I need to darken my barely-there brows in order to bring balance to my face.

Enhance. Because my eyes like to hide behind my glasses, I always always wear volumizing mascara. Anything that adds a bit more oomph to my eyes is a go for me! And because my lashes are quite long I rarely go without curling them – I’ve had mascara dots on my lenses one too many times for my liking.

Balance. With bold brows comes bold lips. Or at least that’s what I tell myself when I’m buying yet another red lipstick. 😉 Adding some sort of colour to your lips – whether it be a bright red or a rosey nude – helps to balance out all of the weight on your eyes now that you’ve put all that effort into your brows. (Plus lipstick is just really fun!)

Set. Setting your makeup is probably one of the most important points on this list. If you do one thing, I’d suggest this one! At least if your glasses rub of foundation where they touch your skin. Setting your foundation with powder lengthens the wear of my foundation everywhere but especially on the bridge of my nose where my glasses rest. Especially when combined with primer.

Makeup for Glasses

Get the Look!

Face

Brows

Eyes (featuring the Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette)

  • Pat Marzipan all over over Maybelline Color Tattoo in Barely Branded
  • Dip lightly into Haute Chocolate and sweep it through the crease and the outer v of your eyelid. Blend blend blend with a clean, fluffy brush. I also took this down onto my lower lash line.
  • To deepen the crease further add Triple Fudge just to the outer v and once again blend blend blend.
  • Sweep Champagne Truffle over your brow bone. Add it to the corner of your inner eye blend it down onto your lower lash line for more brightness.
  • You can also optionally use Salted Caramel as a transition shade between Haute Chocolate in your crease and Champagne Truffle on your brow bone.
  • Curl lashes with Tarte’s Eyelash Curler
  • Coat lashes with Maybelline’s Lash Sensational Mascara

Lips

Set

I don’t use all of these tips and tools every day, but mixing and matching them depending on your glasses, face shape, skin type, etc etc should help your glasses and your makeup become better friends!

Did I miss any important tips? Share yours in the comments!

*PR Sample

 

8 thoughts on “TUTORIAL | Beauty Guide: The Glasses Edition

  1. Hey Jodi, great tips! I actually don’t do anything TOO differently when I wear glasses, but I use less base product where the glasses rest on my nose. There is no point because people don’t see it, plus it’d just make my glasses kinda gross (I am such a neat freak)! I tend to do neutral eyes and a bolder lip when I wear glasses tho, kinda like what you did here and I love it!

  2. What awesome tips! 😀 Being a glasses-wearer myself, I always wonder if I do makeup differently than others! It’s actually funny for me, I feel my glasses actually minimize my dark circles haha. When I take them off, I look like a completely different person with dead eyes. I wonder why that is!

Leave a Reply

