Sunscreen for Days

This post contains products that were sent to me for my consideration. Go here for my disclosure policy.

I don’t know about where you are, but in Halifax it is hot. After a weekend spent ducking into anywhere that had air conditioning and ingesting an impossible amount of iced drinks, I thought it was about time I wrote about my favourite sunscreen products. Summer doesn’t seem to be going away any time soon, so we’re going to absolutely need to keep plastering it on every inch of exposed skin in the (sometimes very awful) stuff. But I’ve been hunting for the good bottles and I think I’ve stumbled across some of the best sunscreen on the market for face and body.

Sunscreen for Days

Vichy Ideal Soleil Bare Skin Feel Lotion SPF 60: Let’s start off with the luxury – the Vichy Ideal Soleil line was on sale at Shoppers Drug Mart a few months ago and I had just tossed some really awful sunscreen in the garbage, so I picked some up without knowing much about the product. The formula is really light weight and almost water-like when you squeeze it out of the bottle. It’s incredibly moisturizing yet doesn’t feel heavy at all. Basically…it’s everything that I want in a sunscreen.

Reversa Anti-Wrinkle Cream SPF 30: I was sent this anti-aging sunscreen a few weeks ago and couldn’t wait to try it out. I don’t know when I got excited to review sunscreens, but somewhere along the line I did and this is another winner in my books. It’s again so moisturizing and doesn’t feel heavy on the skin at all, though it’s got more viscosity to it than the Vichy. It feels like using a normal moisturizer rather than typical heavy, pore-clogging sunscreen of my childhood. I have on tiny grumble about this sunscreen and that the pump doesn’t give me enough sunscreen per pump. Really it’s more of a laziness thing than anything.

Coppertone Sport SPF 60 Sunscreen: This is actually my husbands sunscreen, but I thought I should mention it because it’s perfect for those of you who like to spend your summers hiking, swimming, or otherwise working up a sweat. It’s waterproof so it’s doesn’t wash off as easily with sweat or in the water which is always a bonus. Though don’t be fooled into thinking that you don’t need to reapply just because it’s waterproof! You still need to reapply every two hours regardless. The nice thing about this formula is that despite it being a “sport” sunscreen it’s still not heavy. Your skin can breathe though the sunscreen and your sweat doesn’t just pile up uncomfortably like I’ve noticed with other drugstore/budget friendly waterproof sunscreens.

Shiseido Urban Environment Oil-Free UV Protector: I won this in the spring from Dave Lackie and have to say was surprised at how liquidy the formula is. It’s even more watery than the Vichy sunscreen, making it absolutely perfect for wearing under makeup. It feels even lighter than a serum, so it’s absolutely perfect for the face. Though I admit that I’m not the greatest at remembering to put it on my face…

Neutrogena Clear Face SPF 60 Sunscreen: was the first ever facial sunscreen I tried. After years of suffering through breakouts thanks to body sunscreen clogging my pores all summer long I finally tried something different and I’m never going back. My skin hasn’t broken out once because of the sunscreen and it feels just like any other moisturizer I’ve tried. My only negative? Makeup doesn’t really get along with it, so I save it for purely no-makeup days.

What are your favourite sunscreens?

21 thoughts on “Sunscreen for Days

  1. As I mentioned to you on FB the Reversa made my picks too – I love that it just feels like moisturizer and I don’t have to add an additional product. Plus it fights signs of aging too – can’t go wrong there!

  2. That Coppertone one has definitely been the one I’ve used the most over the years. I’ve loved it for playing sports as it’s never let me down!

    Right now I’ve got so many different sunscreens kicking about that I use whatever the heck happens to be on hand!

  3. I’d love to try the Shiseido one because I struggle so much to find a good sunscreen that I can wear on my face during the day – they always make me an oil slick.

  4. Hey Jodi, unfortunately it feels like autumn for the moment here (le sigh), but I was very good about using sunscreens before it started pouring down on a daily basis! This year I am digging the new Clarins one and an ISDIN (Spanish pharmaceutical brand) one for my face, and the Clinique as well as Guerlain ones for my body. I actually think the Clinique tube is almost gone!

    • After the past week of it being so hot I’m actually feeling ready for autumn, though that could just be wanting a break from the heat. That’s really impressive that you’ve almost used up a whole tube!

  5. Pingback: Fuss Free Weekend Getaway Packing List | Up the Rollercoaster

  6. Pingback: Empties & Tosses #15 | Up the Rollercoaster

Leave a Reply

