Shoppers Drug Mart Beauty Gala – August 2015

Thursday evening I went to the Shoppers Drug Mart Beauty Gala at the Spring Garden Road location and while I forgot to my camera to take photos at the actual event, I thought I would do a little recap anyway.

For those of you who have never been to one of the Shoppers Drug Mart Beauty Gala’s they can be quite fun. Your ticket costs $10 – $5 of that goes towards their Look Good Feel Better charity and the other $5 is your ticket. Your ticket includes a $5 coupon, a makeover and/or skin consultation, a goodie bag, snacks and an entry into their giveaways for more goodies.

There were three makeup artists to chose from for my makeover, one each representing Stila, Benefit and Lise Watier. I’ve tried a few Benefit items before, own one eye palette from Lise Watier but have never tried Stila. I would have loved to get my makeup done with any of the products but chose Lise Watier – I love that they’re a Canadian brand and I’ve been eyeing up their corrector palette for about six months, so I wanted to see it in action. My makeup artist was a delight to chat to and was excited when I told her that I wanted something colourful.

Shoppers Drug Mart Beauty Gala Makeover

I like how this look photographs, though I didn’t like it as much in real life. I guess I just really know what I like when it comes to makeup, but that’s no fault of the artist’s, seems as I told her to have fun. I’ve realize I enjoy getting my makeup done, it’s fun to see what other people do to my face!

I ended up picking up the corrector palette and a Dramatique Intense Extra Smooth Eyeliner in Green because it was SO gorgeous. (Keep an eye out for both of those in use next week!)

I didn’t end up sticking around for very long after I was finished getting my makeup done – I was really excited to dig into my goodie bag! – but I did chat with some of the girls while I was being checked out and they told me that Urban Decay was coming to this SDM soon! Yeaaaaah! I am thrilled! And also hoping for another gala to celebrate Urban Decay’s arrival. *fingers crossed*

I’m really impressed with my goodie bag from the event. I hear from other bloggers that they can be pretty hit or miss, depending on what kinds of products the location carries and what they have for samples. But most of mine was filled with Lancôme, so I was pretty stoked!

Shoppers Drug Mart Beauty Gala Samples

Rimmel nail polish – Blue Eyed Girl, Lancome Color Design Eyeshadow Quad – Orchid Splendor, L’Oreal Nail Polish – Greyt Expectations, L’Oreal Color Riche Eyeshadow Quad – Hollywood Icon, Lancome Renergie Lift Multi-Action Cream, Lancome Juicy Tube Lipgloss – Tickled Pink, Lancome Visionnaire Advanced Skin Corrector, Aqua Di Gio by Giorgio Armani for Men, Lancom Bi-Facil Eye Makeup Remover and what I think might be a Burberry cologne sample

I also ended up winning one of the giveaways, which has a mix of higher end skincare items and typical drugstore makeup items. I’m so grateful for the items, even if I end up giving them to my friends.

Shoppers Drug Mart Beauty Gala Giveaway

Maybelline Color Show Nail Polish – Gilded Rose; Maybelline Color Show Nail Polish – Punk Rock Pink; La Roche-Posay Lipikar Huile Lavante Cleansing Oil; Nailene Designer Collection for Little Fingers; Reversa Micellar Solution; ROC Multi Correxion Cream; Nicki Minaj Pink Friday Body Lotion; L’Oreal Color Riche lipstick in Pink Cashmere; La Roche Posay Dermalogical Anti-Ageine Concentrate for Eyes; L’Oreal Magic Nude Liquid Powder in 320 Natural Beige

I’d definitely say the Shoppers Drug Mart Beauty Gala is something to look into in the future wherever you are – I know I will definitely be keeping an eye on them in the future! It’s a fun time to try some new makeup and get some makeup samples.

Have you gone to one of the Shoppers Drug Mart Beauty Galas?

12 thoughts on “Shoppers Drug Mart Beauty Gala – August 2015

  1. When I first saw that shot of your face I knew immediately that you hadn’t done your makeup. I like the way you do yours much, MUCH better. But hey, like you said, it’s nice to see how other people do your makeup!

    I’ve never been to one of the galas, I don’t even know how you get an invitation! I love the goodie bag – that’s fairly impressive tbh!

    • Yeah it’s a little orange for me, I feel like I look like my mom 😉

      You don’t need an invite – they’re open to the public! They general advertise a few weeks in advance and you can buy a ticket.

  2. OMG look at all the minis you got in the goodie bag! Just for that I might consider going LOL

    Sooo I like the look, but it’s not something I’d wear on a daily basis. I know that clashing lips and cheeks are a look, but it still seems more like a promo image/editorial thing than anything else! The eyes are nicely done tho!

    • Haha I know right! So many cute little minis to try out! I’m pretty stoked about it.

      Yeah the cheeks are a liiiiittle orange for my liking, but I loved the lip colour and the eyes!

  3. Pingback: Longing for Fall with MAC Craving | Up the Rollercoaster

Leave a Reply

