Review: CoSchedule

Every blogger needs this editorial calendar in their life!

Photo from Death to Stock Photo, edits by me

I have a bit of a different post for you today featuring a fantastic website I’ve been using for the past two weeks for scheduling my posts – both on social media and here on the blog. CoSchedule is a website/editorial calendar where you can not only schedule and write your blog posts, but also your social media so that your posts get as much exposure as possible.

coschedule editorial calendar

Review: CoSchedule | Editorial Calendar

Before finding CoSchedule, I used a combination of Hootsuite and the editorial calendar plug in for WordPress, but scheduling social media with my posts still took quite a bit of time. I’ve also tried Buffer in the past and while both Hootsuite and Buffer get the job done, CoSchedule takes all of the guess work out of scheduling. You connect CoSchedule to your social media accounts – I have mine connected to both my personal Facebook profile and my Facebook page for Up the Rollercoaster, Google Plus and Twitter. I would love to be able to connect to Pinterest and Instagram as well, but those aren’t options as of right now. You can however give yourself tasks to complete, and if you connect CoSchedule to Evernote and Google Docs there are tons of ways to remind yourself to do them. So I’ve been using those to remind myself to Instagram and Pin my posts a few days after the post has gone up and it’s been super useful!

CoSchedule also gives options to connect to a Tumblr and LinkedIn, though I don’t use either of those so I haven’t taken advantage of that setting.

coschedule social media scheduling

Review: CoSchedule | Social Media Schedule

As you can see in the screenshot above, CoSchedule prompts you to schedule posts at certain intervals in the future (Today, Tomorrow, Next Week, Next Month) as well as gives you the option for posting in a custom date. This takes the guess work out of scheduling for me,ย and it covers all of my bases. Though I admit that I do use the Custom Date just as much as the defaults because I don’t want all of my promotion to happen on the days that I post.

coschedule social media customization

Review: CoSchedule | Social Media Customization

CoSchedule also makes it easy for you to send out your messages by auto filling in the title and link to your post. You can edit both of these if you like, though I usually just tack on the rest of my post with more text so it doesn’t seem so robotic. You can also include an image as well as a link, which is my personal favourite way to post.

CoSchedule integrates seamlessly into your WordPress dashboard so that you don’t have to go to a different website to work on your blog after your initial sign up. You can view your editorial right in WordPress, schedule your social media in the editorial calendar or even in the post itself as you’re working and even view stats for your social media posts. (Analytics are seriously the best.)

coschedule social media

Review: CoSchedule | Social Media Stats

I haven’t been using CoSchedule enough for my stats to actually show anything, but you can imagine from the screenshot above how useful this would be after using CoSchedule for a few months.

If you’d like a more detailed overview of CoSchedule or want more information, you can watch their Overview video (below), or sign up for a free 14 day trial with myย referral link. My trial is up on Monday and as much as I’d like to continue to use CoSchedule – it seriously makes scheduling social media such a breeze – it’s just not financially viable for me right now. If you do use my referral link, I get 10% off a future subscription, so if that’s something you’re interested in I’d really appreciate it! If not, you can just head to their website and give it a look, that’s totally cool too.

This was actually a lot of fun for me to write – would anyone be interested in me continuing to write more tech-y posts in the future? Let me know in the comments below!

15 thoughts on “Review: CoSchedule

  1. Wow it definitely looks like they have everything covered. I love that they work with multiple platforms! I still do everything manually, and it’s not too difficult for me. The only thing is that I would love to find an app that lets me stay signed in to 3 Instagram accounts at once – I have my personal, photography, and blog, and it’s just a lot to manage at once!

    Angelina Is | Bloglovin’

    • Instagram can be so difficult sometimes – I only use one account for exactly that reason. I started an account for my cat but ended up abandoning it because it was such a hassle to keep switching back and forth.

Leave a Reply

