The Plum Makeup Edit

The Plum Makeup Edit

The Plum Makeup Edit

This post contains products that were sent to me for my consideration. Go here for my disclosure policy.

Whether you like red-toned burgundies or blue-ish velvets, plum is where it is at for fall. I’ve pulled out a few of my favourite purple-y makeup products into this little plum makeup edit because…well…it’s just so pretty!

Wet n Wild Color Icon Palette in Petal Pusher is one of my favourite palettes ever and it’s sooo inexpensive. I’ve actually used enough of one of these that it’s now been replaced with the one you see in the photo. That’s pretty darn impressive for eyeshadows no? Petal Pusher ranges in purples from lilac to burgundy so it’s really got everything.

NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Purple Velvet. These pencils are best known for being great eyeshadow bases (cough, Milk, cough), but they like to slip around on me a lot so I always have to prime my lids anyway. (Whomp whomp). However it’s the perfect all over the lid shade if you want something an easy smokey eye – all you have to is blend! I’m also looking forward to seeing how it preforms later in the fall underneath more complex looks for a nice purple undertone.

MAC Cosmetics Cremesheen Lipstick in Plumful. I mean, plum is right in the name, how could I not include it? I wrote a full a review on it a few months ago, so I won’t go into too much detail, but it is one of my favourites. Plumful is a sheer, but moisturizing lipstick that adds just a hint of plum to your lips perfect for everyday.

Wet n Wild megaslicks Balm Stain in Lady and the Vamp is MAC Plumful’s drugstore sibling with just a hint more red in the formula. I reviewed it last year when I just about couldn’t put it down. It’s one of those lip products that you don’t need to look in the mirror to apply because it’s just so simple.

Sephora Nano Lip Pencil in Pleasant Plum. I don’t think Sephora sells this particular mini pencil anymore, but it’s still worth a mention in my books. It’s more of a red leaning plum than some of my other choices, but it’s perfect to go under a sheer lipstick like MAC Plumful. I personally like to use it as an all over colour for a plum-y, berry-ish matte lip that is all fall, all the time.

Almay intense-i-color Eyeshadow in Trio for Browns is discontinued, I think, but it’s a great example of a trio that does the sheer wash of colour for people who are a bit intimidated by purple on the eyes. I know that I still am at times.

Do you have a favourite makeup colour for fall?

//static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js?v=116

18 thoughts on “The Plum Makeup Edit

Leave a Reply

