Empties & Tosses: July – October 2015

Empties & Tosses: July - October 2015

This post contains products that were sent to me for my consideration. Go here for my disclosure policy.

I can’t even remember the last time I wrote an empties post…according to my archives it was in December of last year. Almost a year ago! I stopped collecting my empty products for half a year and started again when I did a big purge of my makeup in July. I think it had something to do with not feeling like I could quite let go of some of the makeup. 😉

Rating Scale:
😘 = love (repurchase)
😊 = pretty great (consider repurchasing)
😑 = indifferent (will not repurchase)

Empties & Tosses: July - October 2015

The Body Shop Coconut Body Scrub 😊 I like that TBS body scrubs are moisturizing while being scrubby, and this one smelled divine. However I bought a dry brush not long ago, so I’m going to be sticking to that for exfoliating my extremities from now on.

Kiss My Face Light Moisturizing Lotion in Tropical Coconut 😘 I adore this lotion and am so sad that I used it up. The can made it so quick and easy to apply, plus the coconut smell is just divine.

Dr Teals Lavender Epson Salts 😘 These bath salts were like heaven in a bathtub, I can’t wait to repurchase them!

Dr Bronner’s Liquid Castille Soap 😘 I love using this to wash my brushes, though it can be used for pretty much anything you use soap for. I used up this tea tree scented one and I’ve already bought a new lavender one.

LUSH Love Locket Bath Bomb 😊 God…I’d had this since Valentine’s Day. I doubt you’re supposed to keep LUSH’s bath bombs for that long. 😉 Thankfully the remains I had of this one was still good as new and I enjoyed using it, though I definitely prefer others in LUSH’s arsenal.

TRESemme Keratin Smooth Shampoo, Conditioner and Treatment Sample 😊 I looooved how this set made my hair feel! I definitely felt the smoothing effects it claimed. I don’t think I’ll ever need to buy shampoo again, but if/when I do I’ll definitely consider this one from TREsemme.

Joe Fresh Cotton Pads 😑 I was so hoping these would be good, but as soon as I tried to use them to remove my makeup, the cotton pad started to tear apart. They were okay softness-wise, but they were so difficult to use.

Empties & Tosses: July - October 2015

Juice Beauty Blemish Clearing Cleanser 😑 I liked this when I first started using it, but by the time it was used up I felt indifferent to it. I don’t feel like it did much for my skin, honestly, though it did smell nice.

Claypatra Clay Face Mask (toss) 😑 I used this once and honestly can’t remember it doing anything for me. It dried out after that, so I couldn’t test it again.

The Body Shop Vitamin E Eye Cream 😊 I really liked this eye cream – nice and moisturizing, but not too heavy – though I went through it SO fast. I haven’t decided if I’m going to be repurchasing it again for that reason alone.

LUSH Eau Roma Water 😊 I loved this facial spray, though I don’t exactly think it does much more than give a little extra hydration boost. The rose scent is really soothing though.

Black Colored Rice Hydrogel Eye Patch 😑 These masks were nice and cooling, though I never noticed any sort of effects on my eyes after using them.

The Body Shop Camomile Sumptuous Cleansing Butter 😘 I will never not repurchase this. Well, only if I decide to go back to the oil instead of the butter, like I did this time around. Favourite makeup remover ever!

Kiehl’s Blemish Control Daily Skin Clearing Cream Treatment (toss) 😑 I liked this for a while, but then I noticed that it wasn’t doing much. I’ve had it since before I moved to Halifax and have barely touched it since, so I don’t think I’ll be repurchasing this one.

Olay Fresh Effects Everything Off Makeup Wipes 😑 I didn’t feel like these wipes removed makeup at all, if I’m honest. I only use wipes for swatch removal, so I didn’t find them all that useful. I reallllly had to scrub at my arm to remove the makeup.

Simple Makeup Removing Wipes 😑 I bought these because I’ve heard such good things, even though I’m not a fan of makeup wipes, and was then surprised when I didn’t like them all that much. They take makeup off alright, though they leave my skin feeling irritated, even when I just used it to remove arm swatches.

Balea Fine Line Face Mask (toss) 😑 This mask started burning as soon as I put it on, so I definitely won’t be trying it again.

Balea Micro Dermabrasion Face duo (toss) 😑 Not going to lie, I was turned off of this mask from the effects of the other one. I thought part of the issue might have been that they went bad, so I tossed this one too, just in case.

Arbonne Clear Advantage Acne Spot Treatment (toss) 😑 Meh, never really did anything for me, unfortunately.

Omorovicza Queen of Hungary Mist (sample) 😑 I got this sample in a Sephora order because I’d seen it hyped up so much on YouTube, but I honestly prefer LUSH Eau Roma.

The Body Shop Drops of Youth Bouncy Sleeping Mask Sample 😊 This made my skin feel sooo hydrated and supple, I’m definitely going to consider purchasing this in the future!

Paula’s Choice Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser (deluxe sample) 😘 I love this cleanser, and wrote about my infatuation with it before, but I’m going to take a break from it for a while before I consider repurchasing. It’s not quite as effective anymore as it was when I first started using it.

Empties & Tosses: July - October 2015

Covergirl Flamed Out Mascara 😊 You’ll know from my makeup wardrobe that I really enjoyed this mascara! It didn’t last as long as I’d hoped, though, so I’m not sure if I’ll repurchase.

Bobbi Brown Concealer Duo 😊 Hellloooo gorgeous. I think if I were to repurchase this I’d just by the corrector and not the powder – I have so much powder – but I really liked how it erased my dark circles!

Bourjois Health Mix Serum 😘 Yes yes yes yes, I love this foundation so much! If Bourjois wasn’t so darn expensive in Canada I’d already have repurchased this.

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara 😘 Love love love this mascara! This is the first drugstore mascara I’ve really fallen in love with and I’m definitely going to think about repurchasing it once I’ve gone though some mascara in my current arsenal.

Red Apple Lipstick in Pinkle Twinkle (toss) 😑 This lipstick recently melted on me and while I’m really sad for it to be gone, I didn’t really wear it anyway. I just love RAL’s lipstick formula so much!

L’Oreal Voluminous Power 24 Hour Mascara 😑 Loved the brush, loved the effect it had on my lashes, but it flaked everywhere. Whomp whomp.

Revlon Lip Butter in Cherry Tart 😊 I FINALLY FINISHED IT. Yesssss. I actually discovered it was used up shortly after my Finish 5 By Fall: Results post, so that was super nice. I adore how nourishing the Revlon Lip Butters are, but I think I’d just get a tinted balm if I wanted something like this again.

Wet n Wild Megalast Lipstick in Cinnamon Spice 😘 I loved this lipstick so much, but it was another melted lipstick disaster. I thought it would be alright until the lipstick broke right off when I tried to use it. Boooooooooo. Luckily I have a pretty close dupe shade-wise, but I’m still sad.

Rimmel Scandaleyes Eyeliner in Black (toss) 😑 Ugh, this was just an all out fail for me. Not enough pigment and it transferred on me. I like the tip though!

NYX Incredible Waterproof Concealer in Green (toss) 😑 I wanted to love this, but I found it didn’t stay put on blemishes, which was why I really wanted it in the first place.

Wet n Wild Megaclear Brow Gel (toss) 😑 The formula of this brow gel is fine, if a little wet (leading to the dreaded crunchy brow), but the brush is just way too big for my sparse brows.

Urban Decay Primer Potion Samples 😊 I loved these samples, but I won’t be purchasing a full size because the new Primer Potion formula just doesn’t keep my eyeshadow in place. Darn oily eyelids.

Arbonne Bronzer (sample) 😑 It’s hard to tell if you like a product from these little single use packets, but this bronzer was a little too orange for me anyway.

NARS Pro-prime Light Optimizing Primer SPF 15 😑 I’m so glad that I finally used this sample up! It didn’t do a lot for me primer-wise, if I’m honest, but I prefer pore filling primers anyway.

Rimmel Apocalips in Apocaliptic (toss) 😑 Can you believe that this was my first every pink lipstick? My first lipstick purchase ever was a red one and at the time I was into super bold colours, so this fuchsia was right up my street. Unfortunately its age and the fact that I hadn’t worn it since probably last year meant that it needed to leave my collection.

Burt’s Bees Lip Gloss (toss) 😑 I liked how moisturizing this lip gloss was and the colour was pretty, but it had just become so old that I couldn’t justify keeping it around.

Oof, that was long. If you stuck around for all of that – kudos to you! Hopefully I’ll get to writing the next empties post sooner. 😉 What’s one product you were sad to see used up?

//static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js?v=116

13 thoughts on “Empties & Tosses: July – October 2015

  1. yay! the amazing thing about not doing empties every month is ALL THE MAKEUP! I really want to try that maybelline mascara but I can never justify buying another mascara because i have so many unopened. I regularly give unopened ones away to my family and they still accumulate somehow…also very interested in the bourjois foundation with all the love it gets from you, chelle and natalie!

    • I really do like that Maybelline mascara, though I prefer it after it’s dried out a bit. I also picked up their new mascara and am in LOVE. I think I found my perfect mascara. ❤

      I think the SDM on Spring Garden got rid of all of their Bourjois 😦 Elizabeth Arden has replaced it on the shelves and I am so sad.

  2. Pingback: October to December 2015 Empties & Tosses • Up the Rollercoaster

Leave a Reply

