Arbonne Smoothed Over Lipsticks and Liner + Swatches

Arbonne Smoothed Over Lipsticks & Lip Liner Review & SwatchesThis post contains products that were sent to me for my consideration. Go here for my disclosure policy.

I love trying new lipsticks. They were my gateway product into this whole blogging world and my adoration has only gotten stronger since. So having the opportunity to try the Arbonne Smoothed Over Lipsticks and an accompanying lip liner was really exciting for me. Especially because of those colours. Give me purples and berries all day every day and I’d be the happiest blogger ever!

Arbonne Smoothed Over Lipstick in Aster

Arbonne Smoothed Over Lipstick in Aster

Like the Arbonne Intelligence Lip Treatment the packaging on these guys aren’t anything special. I’d even go so far as to say it’s pretty underwhelming. The tube is light and feels cheap – it’s very similar to the Wet n Wild Mega Last lipsticks, actually. It’s definitely disappointing – good packaging can really escalate a product from being “good” to “luxe” in my mind.

The Arbonne Smoothed Over Lipsticks themselves are very creamy and hydrating. They are very light on the lips, though they do have a bit of a slip to them so they don’t last that long on the lips. I’ve been all about the hydrating lipsticks for fall and winter, though, so this suits me just fine. The bullets are cut steeper than what I’m used to so it took me a little bit to get used to them, but now that I have used them a few times I actually find the rounded tip to make it faster to apply than the pointed tip that is the norm for lipsticks. They have a slight strawberry scent that lingers for a few minutes but it’s not so strong that it bothers me.

Arbonne Smoothed Over Lipstick in Iris

Arbonne Smoothed Over Lipstick in Iris

The only downside to these lipsticks is just how soft the formula is – it feels beautiful on the lips, but Iris started to break off of the bullet the first time I used it.  You can see one of the breakage points in that above photo – I was so sad! It’s actually completely broken now, so the only way I can use it is with a lip brush or a very careful hand. I’ve chatted to some of my blogger friends and they’ve had similar experiences with the Smoothed Over lipsticks, which is a real shame because they are so beautiful!

Arbonne Lip Liner in Berry

Arbonne Lip Liner in Berry

I was also sent the Arbonne Lip Liner in Berry and have had nothing but good experiences with it. It’s not really a berry on my lips – it’s pretty close to my natural lip colour, actually, but a shade or two darker. It’s a matte formula with a twist up lead that glides on the lips smoothly. It has a little sharpener in the back end like so many twist up formulas do, though I prefer to use it with a rounded edge.

Arbonne Lip Liner in Berry

Arbonne Lip Liner in Berry

Berry doesn’t emphasize the lines in my lips like some harder lip liners do and it provides a lovely matte base for a lipstick. It’s a really beautiful shade to wear on it’s own too!

Arbonne Smoothed Over Lipstick in Iris

Arbonne Smoothed Over Lipstick in Iris

Unfortunately I haven’t touched Iris since I took this photo because it’s such a hassle to wear. It is my perfect fall shade though – a purple leaning berry that doesn’t emphasize fine lines at all. I just wish it hadn’t broken on me!

Arbonne Smoothed Over Lipstick in Aster

Arbonne Smoothed Over Lipstick in Aster

Aster is a beautiful red-leaning berry that is creamy and smooth. It’s so comfortable to wear and if I wasn’t so afraid of it breaking I would definitely wear it more often.

Unfortunately I just can’t recommend the Arbonne Smoothed Over Lipsticks because they are so prone to breaking and at $28 each there are much more reliable formulas on the market. However, I have had such a great experience with the lip liners ($24) that I would recommend those if you’re in the market for a natural liner and have room in your budget.

Have you tried any Arbonne products? Let me know your favourites!

20 thoughts on “Arbonne Smoothed Over Lipsticks and Liner + Swatches

  1. both these shades are gorgeous on you but it’s really too bad about the lipstick formula. i deal with the soft formula for fresh balms because they are so moisturizing and really a lip treatment (and it doesn’t sound as bad as this), but for a lipstick i find it too much of a hassle to be honest when there are other products that don’t break. the lip liner sounds like a winner though and looks great!

  2. I just got done saying that I need all the berry lippies and my life would be complete- lol! I’m a berry lover, too! Great color

  3. While I haven’t tried these specific products before, I’ve used Arbonne in the past and didn’t like the way that their products performed. Thoroughly enjoyed your detailed review though xxx

  4. It’s such a bummer that the packaging on these lipsticks seems cheap, since they look beautiful on you! And for that price, the packaging really should be better. I mean, Urban Decay lipsticks are $22 and they look AND feel expensive (in my opinion). Thanks for the review!

  5. I really like their lipsticks but I agree the formula is very butter (reminds me of the Sugar Lip Balms) and can break easily. I don’t mind though because the formula is so hydrating it’s worth using a light hand to apply!

Leave a Reply

