Urban Decay x Gwen Stefani Eyeshadow Palette Review & Swatches

When Urban Decay announced they were collaborating with Gwen Stefani there was a whole lot of excitement in the beauty blogging community. My interest was peaked and I went back and forth a lot on whether or not I actually even liked the shades included in the palette, so it wasn’t likely I was going to pick up the Urban Decay x Gwen Stefani collaboration. But then the beauty blogging/vlogging community happened. This is definitely one of those Beauty Bloggers Made Me Do It scenarios.

Urban Decay x Gwen Stefani Eyeshadow Palette

The Packaging

There have been a lot of rave reviews about this palette from many people and while I think there are certainly some outstanding eyeshadow shades in the Urban Decay x Gwen Stefani collaboration, I think the real star is the packaging. The palette comes in an Art Deco inspired gold and white box which I can’t bring myself to recycle (and I never keep boxes) and the palette itself is just…heaven. If I could describe my ideal eyeshadow palette packaging, it would be this. Huge mirror, magnetic closure, heavy and absolutely freaking gorgeous.

The Eyeshadows

Now for what you’re really here for – the shades. The Urban Decay x Gwen Stefani eyeshadow palette has glitters, shimmers, mattes and satins which is really nice for diversity. My only real qualm with the palette is how similar most of the shades are to each other – there are very few mid tone shades that I really love to use all over the lid. Unfortunately the super light shades mean that it’s pretty limited to use by folks with darker skintones which is just a shame.

Urban Decay x Gwen Stefani Eyeshadow Palette

I have tried to use every shade and for the most part I have succeeded while testing out the Urban Decay x Gwen Stefani collaboration, except for that last shimmery row. Not only are they (mostly) colours that I don’t normally reach for, but the glitters (PopHarajukuDanger and 1987) are chunky and don’t apply easily to the lid whether they be wet, dry, patted with a brush or a finger. That being said, I really enjoy using the other shadows. Skimp is already one of my absolutely favourite eyeshadows, so I’m happy to have another one of those, Punk and Serious are really fun to use on the outer corner of the eye and Bathwater is the most gorgeous inner corner highlight. And don’t get me started on how pretty Baby is all over the lid. Gawgeous!

The Urban Decay x Gwen Stefani eyeshadow palette is not quite a one and done eyeshadow palette for me despite the great range of highlight shades (Blonde, Bathwater, Skimp), transition shades (Anaheim, Stark, Zone) and deepening shades (Punk, Serious, Blackout)…it’s just really missing those midtone shades for me. Ones similar to Baby and Steady, but with a few more options. And with those options the palette could have been more versatile to other skintones too.

The Swatches

Urban Decay x Gwen Stefani Eyeshadow Palette Swatches

Swatches done on bare skin with a single swipe on the arm by a finger

As you can see in the swatches above the Urban Decay x Gwen Stefani eyeshadow palette is pretty darn successful in the pigmentation department. The swatches really show the beauty of the shimmer shades and just how light the first three shades in the palette are.

If you want to see these shadows in action, come back next Monday when I’m going to be posting a 5 Looks One Palette look!

What’s your most used eyeshadow palette?

36 thoughts on “Urban Decay x Gwen Stefani Eyeshadow Palette Review & Swatches

  1. The packaging is absolutely beautiful but none of the shades really stand out to me. And normally if I love a particular shade, I’ll ooh and aah over it even if I have 4 more just like it in my collection. Good to hear that quality is definitely there though!

  2. I love the look of this palette, but so far I’ve passed because I probably wouldn’t use the blue except as liner and I used to think that 1987 was yellow but I’ve seen that’s it’s gold. If I didn’t have so many other neutral palettes I’d go for it coz it’s just so darn pretty! Enjoy it!

  3. I envy you! I’ve been so slack on purchasing this palette. I just need to go get it and stop making excuses. I’m still on the fence, I love the shades, absolutely beautiful but I’m not sure how good they’ll look on my skin tone.

  4. I love the partnership with Gwen Stefani & Urban Decay, brilliant marketing! I was excited to try this palette, while I am not a fan of neutrals for myself I loved the pigmentation and the pink/gold undertones in the neutrals. The blue (danger) I love!

  5. Pingback: 3 Looks 1 Palette: Urban Decay x Gwen Stefani Eyeshadow Palette • Up the Rollercoaster

  6. Pingback: Bloggers Made Me Do It | Up the Rollercoaster

Leave a Reply

