How to Start a Skincare Routine

How to Start a Skincare Routine | uptherollercoaster.com

For a skincare-obsessed blogger like myself, a skincare routine is a joy that I look forward to twice a day. But for some it may not be so easy. It’s difficult to know where to start with skincare with so much choice on the shelves so I’ve created a small cheat sheet on how to start a skincare routine for those of you that may feel stuck.

Start Small

With so much to choose from, it’s easy to get bogged down in products. I find my skin actually responds better to skincare when I keep my routine simple. I keep a rotation of 4 products in my cabinet: makeup remover, cleanser, exfoliant and moisturizer. I like to switch it up every once in a while depending on what my skin is doing, so I usually have a few of each, but that’s totally not necessary.

And don’t get too intimidated by all of the serums and toners and such on the market. If you start with the four steps I mentioned you’ll get a feel for your skin (more on that below) and be able to chose products later on.

Keep a Routine

While it may feel tedious, keeping your routine up is important. It really doesn’t have to take longer than 5 minutes, especially in the mornings when all you’re doing is washing away sweat from the night before. And don’t get discouraged if you don’t see results immediately: skincare takes 1 to 2 months to really start working.

Listen to your Skin

This sounds weird, doesn’t it? When I first got into skincare and makeup and all of this fun beauty stuff I thought people must be insane to say that I should listen to my skin. But it really is true! As you get experience with what your skin should feel like (and that’s different for every person, I think) you’ll know when something is wrong. That will also help you to choose the best products for your skin!

Double Cleanse

If you wear makeup then you must double cleanse. I don’t want to sound preachy, but seriously, your skin will thank you. One cleanse is to remove the makeup, the second is to actually clean your skin. So for instance, I will use my Body Shop Chamomile Cleansing Oil or Nivea Micellar Water to remove my makeup and then go in with the Body Shop Tea Tree Facial Cleanser to make my skin all clean again.

I hoped these tips on how to start a skincare routine have helped! If you have any specific questions please feel free to ask me below and I will do my best to answer them. (Or check out Caroline Hirons’ blog – that’s where I go when I’m feeling stumped!)

26 thoughts on “How to Start a Skincare Routine

  1. Great tips and advice! I couldnt agree more with you on the double cleanse! Many people think that washing your makeup off = washing your face! Nope, definitely need to wash the makeup off, then cleanse your face!! You wouldnt believe how much makeup stays on even after you remove it!

    • It’s kind of gross how much is still there, even on light makeup days. Sometimes I use Micellar water just to see how much gunk is still on my skin after I do my first cleanse and it’s grossssss.

  2. Excellent! I double cleanse too, and I bet a very small percentage of women actually do it. Sometimes I use MW first, and sometimes I cleanse first and use MW to get what’s left.

  3. Start small, yes! When I first started getting into skincare I bought a full line of products from Michael Todd. Using so many new products at one time made it hard to figure out what was and wasn’t working.

  4. This was a super helpful post. I’m usually really ‘basic’ when it comes to my skincare. I do the usual–remove my makeup and wash my face in the shower (at the odd chance, I’ll use a facial cleanser) but recently I’ve been trying to expand my skin care routine. But I also agree that skin care should be kept small and simple–just give your skin what it needs when it needs it type of thing.

    Vanesa | http://www.thebeautyanecdote.com/

  5. The Body Shop cleansing oil sounds good, I’ve been looking for one. I do something to my face daily so I want to use something other than just a makeup remover wipe

Leave a Reply

