blinc Discovery Collection Review

blinc-discovery-kit

This post contains products that were sent to me for my consideration. Go here for my disclosure policy.

I’m always excited to try new makeup, so of course when blinc asked if I wanted to try their Discovery Collection I immediately jumped. The blinc Discovery Collection ($36) contains four items: Mascara Amplified, Eyebrow Mousse, Eyeshadow Primer and Eyeliner Pencil.

Before this I hadn’t tried anything from blinc, so the Discovery Collection was perfect for me. The four products came in house in a box that showed off the four products nicely, and each was individually packed in a little metal tube that made me think of science experiments, though I can’t quite put my finger on why exactly.
blinc-mascara-amplified

The Mascara Amplified is the big sell from the blinc Discovery Collection. This is a waterproof tubing mascara that comes off so easily with just a bit of water and some gentle massaging – I have never experienced such easy mascara removal! I do enjoy the mascara itself as well, though the brush is a little large for my preferences.

blinc-mascara-amplified-brush

I really like that the brush isn’t plastic – I looove this kind of fibery brush. I get incredible definition with the blinc Mascara Amplified, though it’s not as impactful as I prefer. It’s the perfect no-makeup mascara for me, though for someone who likes natural lashes this would be perfect!
blinc-eyebrow-mousse

Next up – the blinc Eyebrow Mousse. If you’ve been reading Up the Rollercoaster a while you know that I am a bit of a brow addict, so this was one of the products I was the most excited about. My last brow gel had just run out when I got this, so it was perfect timing! The blinc Eyebrow Mousse is tinted a nice medium brown that is perfect for my brows and has just the right amount of hold for me. It gives my brows some definition without making them crispy. My only gripe is that the brush is so huge for my sparse brows – I always get brow gel outside of my actual brows. It’s a pretty easy cleanup with a bit of concealer though, so I can’t diss it too much!

blinc-eyeliner-pencilThe blinc Eyeliner Pencil is smudge proof, water proof and life proof according to the packaging, so I was pretty intrigued. With my oily eyelids it’s pretty often that eyeliner smudges all over on me, but this one doesn’t at all. It’s a pretty stiff formula so it takes a bit of work to apply, but I really like to use it to tight liner or put in my water line – it doesn’t go anywhere!
blinc-eye-shadow-primer

Before I even start writing about the blinc Eye Shadow Primer you should know this – my eyelids are super fussy when it comes to primers. Very little actually keeps my eyelids matte and crease-free – even the most popular eye shadow primers don’t work for me! So I have to say I was skeptical when I tried this, but also really hopeful.

blinc-eye-shadow-primer-applicator

The blinc Eye Shadow Primer comes with a doe-foot applicator – my preferred way to apply eye shadow primer – and is slightly tinted. It’s pretty close to my skin tone, but for anyone with darker skin it would be a really nice brightening shade for your shadows. When I use this I apply it from my lash line to my brows and keep my eyes closed for 15-30 seconds while it dries/sets and then go about applying my eyeshadow. And let me tell you…it works. My eyeshadow doesn’t crease when I wear this!! It’s a miracle, y’all!!

blinc-swatches

From left to right: blinc Eye Liner Pencil, blinc Eyebrow Mousse, blinc Eye Shadow Primer, blinc Mascara Amplified.

Above are swatches of each product in the kit – you can see that all four products are nicely pigmented! I really appreciate the yellow tone of the eye brow mousse – no orange brows with this product! Also worth noting is that the eye shadow primer really didn’t want to wash off of my arm after I finished taking these photos, which just goes to show how great the lasting power is!

I definitely recommend the blinc Discovery Kit for anyone who is looking to try some new products – but I especially recommend the eye shadow primer! It is definitely my most used of the bunch.

What is your favourite eyeshadow primer?

12 thoughts on “blinc Discovery Collection Review

  1. A nice set! I’ve never really looked into Blinc (cute name) so this set definitely seems ideal! Currently planning to buy a new eye primer! Maybe I’ll look into this one!

  2. I put an order around the same time the PR packages were being sent out (funny timing). Their mascara used to be the only one that I had zero issues with. I got eyelash extensions shortly after receiving my package so I have not tried the primer yet (since I keep my eye makeup to a minimum), but I cannot wait to try it. I’ll need to get that liner cause nothing stays on my waterline.

  3. Pingback: Beauty Guide: Job Interview Makeup | Up the Rollercoaster

  4. Pingback: FotD: Renewing my Drivers License | Up the Rollercoaster

Leave a Reply

