Covergirl TruNaked The Goldens Eyeshadow Palette – Review, Swatches & Makeup Look

Covergirl TruNaked The Goldens Eyeshadow Palette

When I first saw the new Covergirl TruNaked Eyeshadow palettes I felt a big ol’ meh about them. They are very obviously inspired by the Urban Decay Naked palettes but it’s not even that that made me feel underwhelmed. I am just getting really bored of the same ol’ colours in eyeshadow palettes. Anyone else?

Well…I was pretty wrong to judge this book by it’s cover. The Covergirl TruNaked eyeshadow palette is a shimmery golden wonder that is really quite stunning to look at.

Covergirl TruNaked The Goldens Eyeshadow Palette

Covergirl TruNaked The Goldens Eyeshadow | uptherollercoaster.com

Look at that shine!

The Covergirl TruNaked palette in The Goldens is full of beautiful golden, bronzey shades that are mostly shimmery with two mattes and one satin finish shade. The shadows are incredibly soft, pigmented and almost too blendable – I find that if I’m not careful I can blend these so much that it just gets muddy.

I usually toss the sponge applicator brushes that come with these kind of palettes but I have kept these ones – the Covergirl TruNaked shadows are so soft that the sponge actually works better than my fingers or a brush could. Especially the more pointed end of the sponge applicator – it’s perfect for the lower lash line!

Covergirl TruNaked The Goldens Eyeshadow Swatches | uptherollercoaster.com

Swatched over bare skin with only one swipe each.

The Covergirl TruNaked eyeshadow palette in The Goldens is so versatile. I tend to stick to the lighter end of the spectrum (as seen in the first photo below), blending the matte light brown into my crease, the matte cream patted all over my lid and the shimmery white in my tear duct. However, you can go super smokey with it (in the example below I did a halo technique that used the darkest shade and a mix of the bronze and gold on the center of the lid) or a more bronzed look, which you can see in my review of the Annabelle liquid eyeliners.

Covergirl TruNaked The Goldens Eyeshadow Palette | uptherollercoaster.com

Covergirl TruNaked The Goldens Eyeshadow Palette | uptherollercoaster.com

I really enjoy using this palette. The warm tones are right up my alley and the shade selection allows for a huge variety of looks. If I was a traveller this would be a really great palette to take on the go because of the versatility and the compact size. It’s definitely one to check out from the drugstore!

Have you tried any of the Covergirl TruNaked eyeshadow palettes? Which is your favourite?

14 thoughts on “Covergirl TruNaked The Goldens Eyeshadow Palette – Review, Swatches & Makeup Look

  1. These are great if you don’t have the Naked palettes, but so many drug store dupes with the same colours. I have a Quo one that looks so similar too yet I keep buying them because I love bronze-browns

  2. I think the naked palettes are MEH for what they’re worth and I MUCH prefer drugstore ones like these! I haven’t actually tried any covergirl eyeshadows before; this palette has a good range of neturals and probably prefer this over my original naked palette! PS- what mascara do you have on?!

    • I agree – I have Naked 3 which I love for sentimental purposes (it was my first eyeshadow palette from Sephora and I used it in my wedding) but I rarely use it. I hadn’t tried Covergirl shadows before this either and I was so pleasantly surprised!!

      In the first set of photos I have a combination of the Maybelline Push Up Drama and MUFE Smokey Stretch and in the second I have Smashbox Full Exposure.

Leave a Reply

