Spring Skincare Additions for Sensitive Skin

Spring Skincare for Sensitive SkinThis post contains products that were sent to me for my consideration. Go here for my disclosure policy.

I don’t change my skincare that often unless I’m specifically reviewing something, but with a change in the weather I am definitely needing a bit of a change. My spring skincare routine is still a work in progress, but I have been trying to be a bit more gentle on my skin in comparison to my winter routine. I felt like I was getting bogged down by products and sometimes it’s nice to give both my brain and my skin a break. 😉

I’ve turned to a Canadian drugstore brand for my spring skincare needs. Marcelle is known for their gentle, sensitive-skin friendly skincare and my skin has been feeling quite sensitive lately. It’s been   dehydrated and looking quite red (but still acne-prone), so I knew I could trust Marcelle to sort me out.

Spring Skincare for Sensitive SkinCleansing

It’s been a long time since I’ve used a creamy cleanser, but the Marcelle Ultra Gentle Cleansing Gel has been really soothing for me lately. I was concerned that it wouldn’t be potent enough for my acne-prone skin, but it’s been good to me so far. I still like to use something that targets acne more readily in the evenings, but I love using this gentle cleanser in the mornings when I don’t have makeup to deal with. It doesn’t strip my skin of any moisture it might have, unlike so many acne products I’ve used, so that’s really been helping with my tight-feeling skin.

Makeup Removal

The constant first step in my evening routine  is makeup removal. I’m usually very skeptical of makeup removers, but I was looking forward to trying the Marcelle Gentle Makeup Remover for Sensitive Eyes after hearing Megan talk about how amazing it is. I do have quite sensitive eyes, and this dual-phase remover is really great at removing my mascara/eyeshadow/etc without stinging or making my eyes stream. I use it all over my face to take off my makeup and it works just as well as my beloved Body Shop Cleansing Oil. I do follow this up with a second cleanse, but that’s a standard practice for me, not a remark on how well the Makeup Remover works. It takes the most stubborn makeup off really easily and I have a feeling this will be a new constant in my bathroom.

Spring Skincare for Sensitive SkinMoisturize

My skin loves Vitamin C, so when I saw that Marcelle offered a moisturizer with Vitamin C in it I was pretty stoked. The Hydra-C 24H Energizing Hydrating Gel is a very light gel-like moisturizer. These gel moisturizers seem to be very in right now and I just recently finished up one of my favourites, so I’m glad to have another.

The packaging for this moisturizer is very luxe-feeling: the glass jar/mirrored lid combo looks so nice sitting in my skincare cabinet. It feels really wonderful on the skin too – light weight yet moisturizing and cooling, which will be so nice in the summer. I’ve actually been using it for my under eyes as well. I’ve been pretty lazy with eye cream lately, and the Hydra-C Hydrating Gel has been working a treat. The only thing it’s missing is SPF, but I usually put that on separately anyway.

And that’s it! What is your spring skincare looking like this year?

34 thoughts on “Spring Skincare Additions for Sensitive Skin

  1. When I was on Accutane the only makeup remover that I used (when I wore makeup) was the Marcelle because of how gentle and soothing it was for my dry, sensitive skin. I have tons of back-ups and still love it for those hard to remove products.

    I’m happy to see you are loving the Marcelle skincare products 🙂

  2. I’ve never actually tried anything from the brand, but it sounds great. Over the last few years, the sensitivity of my skin has drastically decreased (thankfully), so I don’t have to be quite as careful anymore. That being said, products for sensitive skin are always good.

    Katherine || The Green Bows

    • I’m pretty new to the brand but I’ve definitely liked everything I’ve tried so far. The nice thing about these products are that they’re super nice even if you don’t have sensitive skin. 🙂

  3. Ohh… this makes me want to try the Marcelle Makeup Remover! Nothing has touched Bioderma to me, but I am always looking!

  4. Pingback: Empties & Tosses #15 | Up the Rollercoaster

Leave a Reply

