On a Hike with Coppertone Clearly Sheer

On a Hike with Coppertone Clearly Sheer - McNabs Island | uptherollercoaster.com

I can get preachy when it comes to wearing SPF – just ask my husband. Though admittedly he is very good at keeping himself protected for the sun. Last week we went out to McNab’s Island for a hike with a few friends and I knew that I was going to take the new Coppertone Clearly Sheer SPF line with me. I had used them in the city and already enjoyed them, but the real test was going to be being outside all day with the sun beating down on me.

On a Hike with Coppertone Clearly Sheer - McNabs Island Dock | uptherollercoaster

On a Hike with Coppertone Clearly Sheer – McNabs Island Dock

Coppertone Clearly Sheer comes in three formats – a traditional lotion, a spray and a face lotion. I have the spray and traditional lotion both in SPF 30 and both are so light and airy that it doesn’t feel like I’m actually applying SPF. Even my favourite SPF‘s have some sort of lotion-y feeling, buth Coppertone Clearly Sheer formulas that I have feel like nothing at all.

Luckily they still pack that SPF goodness that I need. I burn very quickly so I need a good SPF in summer. I usually like a face-specific sunscreen so I don’t break out, but the claim that Coppertone Clearly Sheer won’t break you out made me optimistic – so I tried it and you know what…my skin felt great. It was soft, not greasy, and I didn’t break out. Miraculous!

On a Hike with Coppertone Clearly Sheer - McNabs Island Tiny House | uptherolllercoaster.com

On a Hike with Coppertone Clearly Sheer – McNabs Island Tiny House. Our tour guide (aka my husband) told us that this tiny house was made for the circus performers that lived on the island during Victorian times – it was made specifically for the little people, so everything was sized for them. Unfortunately this is all that’s left.

I used the traditional lotion as my initial application (though I still managed to miss a few spots, darn it) and then topped up while on the island with the Coppertone Clearly Sheer Spray Sunscreen. The spray was even and light, it made it super easy to reapply my SPF. I wasn’t wearing makeup that day but this might be a good way to top up on top of makeup throughout the day.

On a Hike with Coppertone Clearly Sheer - McNabs Island Ship Skeleton | uptherollercoaster.com

On a Hike with Coppertone Clearly Sheer – McNabs Island Ship Skeleton. It looks kind of like a fish, no?

I did burn that day (sigh), but it’s no fault of the sunscreen. I didn’t reapply enough and I missed a few spots – this is why you should ask your husband/friends for help when applying sunscreen!

The Coppertone Clearly Sheer doesn’t have much of a scent – there’s supposed to be a citrus/floral mix, but I really don’t smell anything unless I put my nose right against my skin. Then it’s slightly sweet and fresh, but it’s completely non-offensive.

On a Hike with Coppertone Clearly Sheer - McNabs Island Victorian Tree | uptherollercoaster.com

On a Hike with Coppertone Clearly Sheer – McNabs Island Victorian Tree. There used to be Victorian gardens on the island (before cars happened) and this tree is one of the few remnants.

I’m really impressed with the Coppertone Clearly Sheer line. I’ve only used the sport line from Coppertone since my childhood, but I’m definitely going to keep an eye out for a sale on the face sunscreen. I want to see how different it is from the traditional lotion!

What’s your favourite SPF?

This post contains products that were sent to me for my consideration. Go here for my disclosure policy.

8 thoughts on “On a Hike with Coppertone Clearly Sheer

  1. So interesting, Jodi! Sounds like fun. I did a similar post last week on our canoeing on the river and MyChelle sunscreens 🙂

Leave a Reply

