Smashbox Step-By-Step Contour Kit Review

Smashbox Step-by-Step Contour Kit in Light/Medium | uptherollercoaster.com

I’ve had the Smashbox Step-by-Step Contour Kit in Light/Medium for just about half a year now, but I’ve only briefly talked about it. To be perfectly honest, it’s because I was struggling with the whole contour thing. No matter what I do I feel like I have a stripe across my cheeks, so I just end up feeling self-conscious. However…I’ve been playing with this kit since April and I finally feel comfortable enough sharing my thoughts on it.

Smashbox Step-by-Step Contour Kit in Light/Medium | uptherollercoaster.com

Packaging

The Smashbox Step-by-Step Contour Kit comes in a sleek plastic palette with an enormous mirror and three excellent-sized pans of product. Even my largest brushes can fit in these guys. The kit also comes with a how-to decal on the inside of the mirror which you can easily transfer to other mirrors if you like.

Note: the kit comes with a brush, but I found it a bit scratchy so I don’t have it anymore. It was a good shape for contouring though.

Smashbox Step-by-Step Contour Kit in Light/Medium | uptherollercoaster.com

The Product

The powders in this kit are smooth, pigmented and blend very easily. The first time I used the bronzer I definitely ended up having to do a lot of buffing to get rid of the huge dot on my forehead. 😉 All three powders in the Smashbox Step-by-Step Contour Kit are matte.

Smashbox Step-by-Step Contour Kit in Light/Medium Swatches | uptherollercoaster.com

The Contour is the perfect cool-toned brown shade for my skin. It can look natural or seriously contoured depending on your preference.

The Bronzer is a bit too orange for my taste, but warms up the face beautifully after the contour. For the perfect bronzer I swirl a big ol’ powder brush in the bronzer and contour powders and go to town./

The Highlight is a matte white that is unfortunately not pale enough on my skin to work as a highlight. I sometimes use it as a setting powder, which does work really well for me. I also prefer shimmery highlights when I do use them, so the highlight definitely isn’t my favourite.

In the photo at the top of the post I am wearing the contour under my cheekbones and jaw, the bronzer just slightly on top of cheek contour and along the forehead, and the highlight on top of my cheekbones, cupids bow, in the inner corners of my eyes and brow bone.

I love the formula of these powders, but I’ve realized playing with this contour kit that I am not a contour person. That being said, I would totally recommend this for someone who does love contouring. If all of Smashbox’s powders are this smooth, I think I’m going to need to try some more.

26 thoughts on “Smashbox Step-By-Step Contour Kit Review

  1. I think the contour you did looks really good! It’s not too dramatic at all. The palette itself is really cute! I find I only do contouring these days if I’m going to an event or something. I used to do it all the time but I’m doing it less and less these days.

  2. I’ve had this palette for about a year now and I use it exactly as you do! I love mixing the bronzer and contour shade to warm up the face 🙂 Perfect combination!

    • I regretted it for quite a while until I forced myself to use it for a month. Then I discovered that the highlight was a great setting powder and now I’m okay with it. I do kind of wish I had the sticks instead.

    • hehe thanks. It felt soooo weird having a contour on, definitely something I’d have to get used to. I think someone with a more medium skintone would fair better with the highlight, but then I’m not sure how well the contour would work.

Leave a Reply

