What is the Best Makeup Remover?

With so many different kinds, it is difficult to know what the best makeup remover for you may be. I’ve been trying different brands, different types, different price points…and I’ve learned that honestly, it a day by day basis. (At least for this makeup junkie.) That’s why I thought it was about time I created a post outlining the pros and cons of different types of makeup removers so that you can decide what the best makeup remover is for you without having to spend the big bucks.

What is the Best Makeup Remover?

Makeup Wipes

First up, makeup wipes. Everyone’s tried them at some point – they’re the makeup version of a baby wipe. And depending on the wipe, it may be more prudent to take a baby wipe to your face. Just sayin’. I pretty much use make up wipes only to take swatches off my my arms (#bbloggerlife) but I know there are people who swear by them. They’re easy, and it’s definitely better than wearing your makeup to bed.

Some of my favourite traditional makeup wipes are the Olay Fresh Effects S’Wipe Out Makeup Remover Cloths: they smell great, are usually fairly inexpensive, and they don’t make my skin feel too stripped.

If you’re looking for something that’s more eco-friendly, budget-friendly and a bit easier on your skin, I also really love FaceOff, which is a makeup remover cloth. It’s made of ultra soft microfibres and you can reuse it for three to four months. (Though please wash it in between now and then, haha!) I admit, I was skeptical about these kinds of cloths at first, but it takes off as much makeup as my trusty oil cleansers without the added product. It even tackles mascara! (Though I can’t be sure about waterproof mascara as I don’t wear it.)

What is the Best Makeup Remover? - FaceOff Cloth

All of that makeup came off of my face with just a FaceOff cloth and some water!

Micellar Water

Micellar Water has become popular in the last few years for similar reasons to makeup wipes – it’s quick and easy! I find that it doesn’t always cut it for heavy makeup days, but for light makeup days it’s perfect. And you can use it as a skin cleanser too, so if you travel a lot it’s ideal. My favourite at the moment is the Reversa Cleansing Micellar Solution, but there are dozens of options available on the market.

What is the Best Makeup Remover?

Duo-Phase Makeup Remover

Duo-Phase makeup removers aren’t anything new, but they’re popular for a reason. These are the kinds of makeup removers that you have to shake before you use (fun!) and use a cotton round to wipe the makeup away. It is some of the most effect makeup removal I’ve ever used, though if you don’t wash your face afterward (I always recommend a second cleanse after makeup removal, by the way) you will be left with an oily residue.

My favourite? Marcelle Gentle Makeup Remover for Eyes. Don’t be scared off by the “for eyes” bit – I use it all over my face.

Cleaning Oil & Cleansing Balm

Don’t be scared off by the “oil” part of this makeup remover – so long as it’s a non-comedogenic oil, it’s not going to clog your pores. Oil cleansers are by far my favourite kind of cleanser, especially in the winter when my skin can feel drier. They’re easy to use, incredibly effective and my skin feels soooooo soft after. Yes to all of those!

If you’ve been around a while you know that The Body Camomile Cleansing Oil is my favourite. The cleansing balm from that line is really great too!

I hope this little guide helps you narrow down what the best makeup remover is for you, and if nothing else has given you a few of my favourites to test out.

10 thoughts on “What is the Best Makeup Remover?

  1. It really is a day by day decision! Sometimes the cleansing oil feels like a treat for my skin (definitely my most used option), and sometimes I’m too tired and reach for wipes. Sometimes my skin feels a bit more sensitive so I’ll reach for micellar waters. Great round-up of products, Jodi!

    • It’s not necessarily bad – if your skin isn’t feeling congested or breaking out then you should be okay! I’d recommend washing your face twice with any face wash or makeup remover (once to remove makeup, once to cleanse your skin), but honestly just “listen” to your skin. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Derma MD Enzyme Cleanser & GIVEAWAY | Up the Rollercoaster

Leave a Reply

