Covergirl Clean Matte BB Cream in 510 Fair Review, Swatches & FOTD

I am forever on the quest for the perfect foundation for every day wear. I liked the Marcelle BB Cream, but it didn’t quite have enough coverage for me. So after I heard so many other bloggers rave about the new Covergirl Clean Matte BB Cream I had snag it.

Covergirl Clean Matte BB in 510 Fair | uptherollercoaster.com

I was a bit nervous about the shade selection in the drugstore – the lightest shade (510 fair) looked pretty yellow and much darker than most fair foundations I’ve seen. But I had Optimum Points to spend, so I decided to try it anyway. 

Covergirl Clean Matte BB in 510 Fair Swatch | uptherollercoaster.com

You can see from the swatch above that the Covergirl Clean Matte BB in 510 Fair is a lot darker than the lightest skin on my body. Luckily my inner arm is quite a bit lighter than my face right now and I hoped that because it is labelled as a BB Cream it would be light coverage enough that it would blend into my skin nicely.

Covergirl Clean Matte BB in 510 Fair | uptherollercoaster.com

Covergirl Clean Matte BB on the left side of my face, the right side is bare

This BB Cream matches my face pretty well at the moment, though I am a bit darker than I normally am thanks to some very sunny days and not being vigilant enough with the SPF. You can really see how much darker the foundation is than my “winter” skin on my neck. The left side of my neck (where I blended the foundation down to) is quite a bit darker than the right side in the photo above.

That being said, I love the formula of the Covergirl Clean Matte BB Cream. I wouldn’t call this a BB Cream personally, it’s definitely more of a foundation with a light-medium coverage that is slightly more medium than light. Yeah, it’s a weird one to classify. I still need concealer on my spots, but it hides pigmentation pretty well.

The finish of this is definitely matte, and it lasts all day on my skin – even in the crazy humidity that Halifax has been experiencing lately. It gives my skin a flawless appearance and blush actually lasts quite a long time on my face with it on. My cheeks are notorious for eating blush, so that’s really impressive to me!

Covergirl Clean Matte BB in 510 Fair with Quo Fall 2016 Eyeshadow, Face Palette, Brow Palette and Lipstick | uptherollercoaster.com

Wearing the Covergirl Clean Matte BB in 510 Fair on my face with the Quo Fall 2016 limited edition products on my lips, brows, cheeks and eyes. (Post coming soon!)

I mean…look at how great my skin looks in this photo! I love the look of it so much, though it can start to feel heavy if you build up the coverage at all. I personally like to mix it with my Clarins Instant Light Radiance Boosting Complexion Base – it lightens the Clean Matte BB just a little bit and also makes the coverage just a little bit lighter.

I don’t know if I’ll be able to wear the Covergirl Clean Matte BB in the winter or not, but I really love this foundation. I hope Covergirl starts to make even lighter shades of their foundations because if this one is any indication of how good the rest of their base products are…well I need to give them a second look!

What are your favourite Covergirl products?

4 thoughts on “Covergirl Clean Matte BB Cream in 510 Fair Review, Swatches & FOTD

  1. Pingback: Quo Cosmetics Limited Edition Fall 2016 | Up the Rollercoaster

Leave a Reply

