The Konjac Sponge: Miracle Worker?

Every time a new type of beauty tool hits my radar I get two reactions: excitement and scepticism. The order of the two often varies, but they always occur together. I guess that’s one of the good things about being a blogger – I get to test out both my excitement and scepticism and tell you about my experience. The konjac sponge was no different than any other tool: I got a good ol’ dose of excitement and scepticism when they were first out on the market a few years ago. A lot of companies said that they were just short of miracle workers – they’d get rid of your acne! Brighten your skin! Deep clean! magic.

I guess that’s why I’ve waited so long to review any konjac sponges. The skepticism won out on this one. BUT. I am also really excited to be reviewing this little egg from ecotools today.

ecotools Konjac Sponge | uptherollercoaster.com

The ecotools Pure Complexion Konjac Sponge is an egg-shaped little tool that fits perfectly into the palm of my hand. Before it gets wet it is hard and not spongey at all – I anticipated a lot of scratchiness when I first pulled it out of its packaging.

I was wrong, though! The konjac sponge gets incredibly soft when you run it under water. It doesn’t really expand (it’s not a beauty blender), but I suddenly see why it’s called a sponge. The narrowest end of the sponge is so perfect for getting in tough to reach places – around the nose and mouth, along the hairline – and it is very gentle. Much gentler than I expected! I like to use it every day and could probably get away with using it twice a day for my exfoliation-loving skin.

My favourite way to use it? By applying my cleanser onto my face force, working it in a bit and than scrubbing away at my face for a little bit. When I use the konjac sponge I spend more time massaging the cleanser into my face, which definitely helps with the cleansing factor. I don’t know if I’d say it’s a deep clean, though.

The ecotools Pure Complexion Konjac Sponge contains bamboo charcoal which is supposed to help remove impurities, but so far as I could tell it didn’t do much. Before I read the packaging I thought it was just grey, honestly.

That being said I do very much enjoy using a konjac sponge both for its gentle exfoliation and for getting those hard to reach places cleansed fully. I have loved using it during the little bit of travelling I’ve been doing lately. I usually use an acid exfoliator every night, but couldn’t take it with me, so I replaced it with this. It’s not as heavy-duty as what I prefer, but it definitely works for short travel times to keep my skin looking and feeling good.

This post contains products that were sent to me for my consideration. Go here for my disclosure policy.

One thought on “The Konjac Sponge: Miracle Worker?

  1. Pingback: What's in my Travel Makeup Bag? | Up the Rollercoaster

Leave a Reply

